Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Custom Tweaks, Modifications, and Revisions
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2012, 07:54 AM   #1
Junk Parts
Court Jester
 
Junk Parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Baltimore-A Rat Hole With A Harbor
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC@60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,023
Send a message via AIM to Junk Parts
Default AMD Upgrade For Hp p6687c Desktop PC

My Pc is a Hp Pavilion model p6687c. It has the AMD Phenom IIX4 840T 2.9Ghz CPU. 8 GB of ram with 64 bit Win7 Home Premium. I'm looking into and upgrade or two. The Hp site says I can upgrade to the AMD Phenom IIX6 10xxT sixcore (Thuban core) CPU. This sounds good to me. Since my PC is 64 bit I can max the ram out at 16GB. This also sounds good! Now I'd love to ditch the onboard graphic. The Hp site says I can run a PCI Express 16X video card. All of this now sounds great to me...LOL Remember I'll old and stupid. Here is where the problem is. This PC only has a 250 watt PSU. Most any PCI Express card worth having requires something around a 400 watts out of the PSU. I guess I'll have to upgrade the PSU too. There is nothing offered as and upgrade for my 250 watt PSU on the Hp site not that I'd buy any of this stuff from them anyway. My hope is that Hp-Compaq hasn't done anything stupid with the pinout of their 250 watt PSU. I'll just buy a 800 watt PSU. My plan is to upgrade my PC with all the above listed goodies. If it works then I'll upgrade my wife's PC too. She has the exact same PC as I do.
__________________
“It ain't what you don't know that gets you into
trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so.”
Mark Twain
Junk Parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 01:11 PM   #2
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,615
Default Re: AMD Upgrade For Hp p6687c Desktop PC

A quadcore and 8GB is more than enough, even for gaming.
I'd replace the powersupply and get a decent mid-range graphics card. Viola.. You got yourself a gaming capable computer (and I'm talking games from the last couple years in at least medium settings)

800W would be total overkill. A good ~450W unit would be fine.

No idea what your budget is, but this is what I'd suggest

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371034

The graphics card.. well.. depends strongly on your budget.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102940
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102908

Just a suggestion. I'm kinda curious what others would put together instead.

Last edited by Scenic; 02-18-2012 at 01:14 PM..
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:42 PM   #3
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: AMD Upgrade For Hp p6687c Desktop PC

I would suggest the same parts that Scenic linked from Newegg.com.

In addition to Scenic's suggestions, if you're looking for a CPU upgrade, unfortunately not many places really stock regular AMD AM3 processors anymore after the release of the AM3+ Bulldozer FX-series processors. The best Phenom II X6 that I could find (being in stock) was the 1055T 2.8GHz at NCIX US for $149.98: http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=520...anufacture=AMD
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 3.2GHz six-core processor (Socket AM3)
16GB G.SKILL Value Series DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
ASUS M4A77TD motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 video card (AX7870 2GBD5-2DHV2)
Samsung EcoGreen F2 HD154UI 1.5TB SATA-II Hard Drive
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-400 400W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred mid-tower case


Last edited by Newbie2; 02-18-2012 at 05:49 PM..
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:24 AM   #4
Junk Parts
Court Jester
 
Junk Parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Baltimore-A Rat Hole With A Harbor
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC@60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,023
Send a message via AIM to Junk Parts
Default Re: AMD Upgrade For Hp p6687c Desktop PC

OK I gave myself brain damage trying to figure out the AMD family of newer CPU's. My last AMD that I used and loved was I think the AMD 450 K6/2. Had a fast AMD T Bird? something in a home built. Didn't like it because it didn't have the SSE instruction set. I couldn't stream Netflix with it. Now on to what I have now. This would be the AMD Phenon IIx4 840T 2.9 Ghz. If I understand it right. This CPU is actually a AMD Phenom IIx6 10xxT sixcore Thuban that didn't pass tech. Its crippled by have two of its cores disabled to make it into a AMD Phenon II 840T.
Now on the upgrade I think I'll leave the CPU alone. My PC has enough balls with its four core. I'm going to do the PCI Express 16X video card and a better PSU. I don't game but my wife does. She will get a better Card than I buy for myself.
Junk Parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:27 PM   #5
Agent24
Fuhjyyu Killer
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Behind a soldering iron
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230V AC 50Hz
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: AMD Upgrade For Hp p6687c Desktop PC

With those CPUs that have cores disabled, you can enable them on some motherboards if the BIOS supports it, but it's a gamble if they'll actually work OK or not.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 05:30 AM   #6
Junk Parts
Court Jester
 
Junk Parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Baltimore-A Rat Hole With A Harbor
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC@60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,023
Send a message via AIM to Junk Parts
Default Re: AMD Upgrade For Hp p6687c Desktop PC

That is just it. There is no way of knowing if my CPU was crippled because it failed Tech as a six core or if it was fine and was crippled because they needed more 840T four core CPUs. It makes more sense to make all of the family from six core CPU's and then cripple them to make the four core CPUs. It would cost them less in the long run.
Junk Parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:55 PM   #7
Agent24
Fuhjyyu Killer
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Behind a soldering iron
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230V AC 50Hz
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: AMD Upgrade For Hp p6687c Desktop PC

No harm in trying it out, though, if you try and they are unstable then just disable core unlock again.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.