Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Abit - Asus - Aopen
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 06:25 PM   #1
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

So, I have this Asus Eee PC1005HA that's not powering on, not getting anything from the charger being plugged in all of that good stuff! I cracked the little guy open and pulled out the board and found a crusty little ____________ right near the DC input. I cleaned up where the ______________ once was and I have posted a picture below.

Can you help me fill in the blank?
Or does anyone have the schematics for this board?

Thanks guys!!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image7.jpg (517.7 KB, 304 views)
File Type: jpg Image8.jpg (426.6 KB, 239 views)
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:51 PM   #2
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

Ah, let me add that board model is 1005HA Rev. 1.3.

I have not been able to find schematics for 1.3, however I was able to come across the 1.1. I don't know how similar the model would be and if there is any difference in the way they set up the incoming power.
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:52 PM   #3
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

I wonder if thats a fuse. not sure I can see the traces enough to tell if its parallel to those two smd caps.
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:45 PM   #4
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

I was thinking it was a fuse, but how would I even go about trying to find out the specs on it? I just took it off, there was nothing but blown remains, This thing really popped! I wish I could find some schematics for this, unfortunately all I was able to find it for was the rev. 1.1. Well, I will continue my search in the morning. Thanks for your post though!

Thank you,
Pete
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 04:46 AM   #5
Uranium-235
Radioactive
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,367
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

one way you can tell, albeit may not be a good idea (see: last resort). Is to jump the connection with a blob of solder. If it works, its probably a fuse. If it catches fire/explodes or in any way destroys the power adapter or board components, suffice it to say its not
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:22 AM   #6
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

True! I think I'm going to hold off on that for now... lol! I'm going to see what I can find on this and go from there. I think I'm going to email Asus as well to see if they would be willing to supply any information. Even if I can narrow it down to a fuse, I have no clue what fuse to put in it's place.
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:44 AM   #7
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

So, as I'm sitting here looking around for additional information regarding this board, it hit me! I think I have a similar Asus Eee PC1005HA in my computer graveyard. So, I go take a look and to my surprise, I do have one! I crack the thing open and it's my lucky day! The motherboard is Rev. 1.3! Well, here is a shot of what is intended to be in the place where the blow out was!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image9.jpg (412.6 KB, 248 views)
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:20 AM   #8
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 25,957
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

Seems to be a common fault with Eeeeee PCs:

http://zaverio.com/~asbesto/lab/701/

Looks like a small 1A SMD SOD323 diode. What is the input current rating of the laptop?
__________________
Please do not PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

65 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 25 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 9 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:34 AM   #9
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

2.1a
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:23 AM   #10
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

I

Last edited by Peter9DO; 04-30-2012 at 10:40 AM..
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:34 AM   #11
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

OH MY GOD I FOUND IT!!!!!!!!!
http://www.cdil.com/datasheets/ss0520_40.pdf

That only took 2 hours!!! Now I have to see if I can purchase it somewhere... I'll be back with results in another 2 hours! lol!
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:24 AM   #12
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

Here it is:

http://www.mouser.com/Search/Refine....eyword=mbr0540

For anyone who may be looking for these parts, I just saved you hours of work looking for it!!!!
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:46 AM   #13
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

Here is the DC power schematic for the Asus Eee 1005HA. This is REV. 1.1 but the diode is the same for REV. 1.3.

Now, I will stop overloading my own thread with comments... lol!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Asus Eee PC1005HA Rev. 1.1.pdf (40.9 KB, 368 views)
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:09 AM   #14
Koda
Badcaps Veteran
 
Koda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
City & State: Prilep
My Country: Macedonia
Line Voltage: 220v AC
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 281
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

So how did it go? Did you replace it yet?
__________________
Guns don't solve problems. I'll take 12
Koda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:18 AM   #15
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

No, I have to order the parts. I didn't want to take it off the other board, because all that needs is a little reflow or reball. I have a couple of monitors to open that will most likely need some caps so once I get a parts list together big enough to make it worth the shipping charge I will place the order and give it a shot.

I will be sure to update the thread with the results though.
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:10 AM   #16
maxpcc
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: fano
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

Hello Peter9DO,
I have the same problem with my Asus EEE PC 1005HA.
I inverted the polarity and now it can't recharge battery, even if, using a full battery, he works very well.
I opened it and I saw that I have the same burnt chip. Have you repaired your pc? Does it work now?

Thanks in advance,
Max
maxpcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:53 AM   #17
vriem04
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: GLD
My Country: Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

Hello
Everyone,

I have the same issue with a 1005ha....burned diode caused by reversed polarity charging...( that is the function of this diode ).
I ordered some new ones at farnell...hope to receive them in a few day's
vriem04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 12:01 PM   #18
Peter9DO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Peter9DO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 260
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

i replaced the diode and it still didn't work. I wish you the best of luck...keep us updated how it goes!
Peter9DO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:30 AM   #19
Shortcirkit
Dismember
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Cincinnati, Ohio
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

Hi All, I am having a similar problem. My eee pc 1005HA will power on with charger only.

Bought a new Battery, New charger and Internal Power Jack (Installed to Motherboard).

Same problem. Display on computer says charging but doesn't.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Tom
Shortcirkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 11:06 AM   #20
johnye_pt
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: Portugal
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Asus Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1005HA

I managed to make a working netbook out of 2 non working Asus EeePC 1005HA.

The 2nd netbook has a broken LCD, damaged battery (doesn't charge on the working netbook) and no keyboard. If I use a charged battery it works fine when connected to an external monitor and USB keyboard, but it doesn't accept power from the AC charger.

It's missing the same component has in the 1st post, however it looks clean enough to make me believe there was never anything soldered in that place. This board is revision 1.3G. Maybe my problem is elsewhere?

EDIT:

There's a topic on a Polish forum with schematics for 1005HA 1.1G, 1.2, 1.3 and 1.3G but you'll need 8 points to download EACH schematics and you only get 5 for registering. Yay...

I also found pictures of 1.3G and it really seems I'm also missing the component:
http://s019.radikal.ru/i630/1209/a5/ffaddf210716.jpg
http://s019.radikal.ru/i627/1209/80/95c1cca77c32.jpg

Last edited by johnye_pt; 12-08-2013 at 11:34 AM..
johnye_pt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?