Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Power Supply Design and Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 05:53 AM   #1
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Hi guys,

got this one wih "not working" status. Checked +5V SB, there was as low as 2,5 V there. Swapped bulged crapxon and also one diode on its input for beefier - the former one measured OK, but was really burned badly from heating, basically all that part is. Than it measured arround 5 V, thats OK.

I tried to fire it up without fan, but got nothing, thought thats protection. But after recapping whole secondary and soldering in fan, I got still the same. Basically it slightly wheezes with no load, that's common for FSP I think. If I ground the green pin, the wheezing gets louder but I get no other voltage than +5V SB.

Measured quickly for short on secondary, there is none and also it does not go into protection mode (no clicking), so I think this is not the problem. So far I haven't changed the small caps, but I think they are hopefully in not so bad condition to prevent it from start with no load. Will swap them later too.

Any ideas what to check next? I have to go now, will shoot some photos later, so far you can grab som frome jonny for example: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story3&reid=84
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:15 AM   #2
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,088
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Check the thermistor under the secondary heatsink (and the transistor right next to it), see if the primary mosfets and secodary rectifiers are good (not shorted or open) ... go from there...
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:44 AM   #3
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

As I already stated, secondary bridges are OK. Also all transistors measured fine (including the small ones), all SMD diodes are OK and all optocouplers seem OK. The transistor with termistor over reads 6,17 kiloohms, I guess that's OK too.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:55 PM   #4
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Success! Swapped two small caps near the baked +5V SB circuitry and it starts normally. Gonna swap one more in there and that should be it
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:47 AM   #5
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Bloody fucking hell, it just

One SMD zener crap is shorted, how can I identify it's values? It's tiny SMD crap with white and black (maybe grey?) stripes.

Found the schematics, it's the Z41 diode, any clue of what values may be there?


ADD// had a look into datasheet for DM311; it says it wants +20 V on Vcc and starts to work on at least +9 V. So would it be safe to use 20V zener diode?

Last edited by Behemot; 11-04-2012 at 06:24 AM..
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:12 AM   #6
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,015
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

The data sheet specifies that you must have at least Vdd 9 volts to operate properly and that 20 volts is the maximum. As you increase the loading on the +5vsb, the regulator will keep the voltage at 5 volts BUT the Vdd winding providing power to the DM311 chip will increase as the load increases. When the Vdd from this winding on the 5vsb transformer reaches the 20 volt maximum, the DM311 shuts down. That is how it protects your power supply. Usually those pwm chips have an internal zener which prevents the Vdd from going overvoltage - 20 volts in this case. If this chip does not have the zener internally, then the proper zener for you to use would be 20 volts.

Coming directly off the zener cathode, the trace also goes to and powers the Vdd to the main pwm chip. It also has a maximum voltage, and sometimes an internal zener. I think that 20 volts would be a good zener value for that also.

Since there is no current limiting resistor for that zener, I would recommend that you use at least a half watt zener ...... smt device OR kluge an axial component into the circuit. Since the zener is a protection device, it should not be necessary for ordinary operation. Most 5vsb circuits using the pwm chips that I have seen don't have a zener in that location. Beware that your power supply may have other problems which are causing the zener to blow. IMO just a cheap crappy part that died and shorted.

Which two capacitors did you change that helped it start working? That will probably give us a clue as to what is going on.
__________________
Old proverb say.........If you shoot at nothing, you will hit nothing (George Henry 10-14-11)

Last edited by everell; 11-04-2012 at 07:20 AM..
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:30 AM   #7
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

I changed C15 and C49. Than it worked. The last thing was probably accident - I didn't secured the PCB with screws so it may shorted somewhere. I have seen and heard huge spark

There is, however, resistor acting as limiting - the R42 on diagram. In my case, it is 2R2, not 4R7, but it is there.

Last edited by Behemot; 11-04-2012 at 07:47 AM..
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:24 AM   #8
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Now another zener is shorted, the Z42 on feedback. I am not sure why it is there on the first place, because on feedback, if there is over +4,5 V, the LM311 should know that, right? On the other hand, can the fototranstistor in optocoupler even produce such high voltage we would need zener?

Anyway, it's all getting very messy. I will likely dissolder it all and start working on separate board (but have to get it first ). I will start only with the Vcc and Vfb part as the rest seems good. Also do not want to mess with input 325V, it can stay on main PCB together with the very LM311.

Last edited by Behemot; 11-04-2012 at 08:29 AM..
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:58 AM   #9
pdavid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
My Country: Hungary
Line Voltage: 230V/50Hz
Posts: 150
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

I remember how much trouble I had when I first tried to fix a forton 60gly-gln whatever platform. Thanks to badcaps I fixed the standby but ultimately it turned out to be a dead ps233 supervisor.
I used that psu to mod another similar unit.

If it helps I can take some readings on some smd components while the the psu is live.
pdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:00 PM   #10
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Oh, thanks, seems to be same internals
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:32 PM   #11
pdavid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
My Country: Hungary
Line Voltage: 230V/50Hz
Posts: 150
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Okay, my scope tells me that the dm311's feedback leg gets 1.91-2.66V dcc. According to what the dm311's datasheet says I would choose a 5V zener
Before you replace the zener check c43, d40 and m3 opto. Maybe it got shorted somewhere on the feedback. Honesty I'm not a fan of this build because of the ps233 supervisor and the caps. I prefer forton's pnf units, despite the efficiency.
Hopefully you won't have much trouble fixin this though.
pdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 01:51 PM   #12
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

I heard that the PNF boards have even higher current on +12 V, so definitelly you won't tell BS used to be high-end

Anyway, I even desoldered half of the optocoupler and it still was shorted. As I said, it is really messy, it was darkened even before I started to operate there with my 125W transformer soldering pistol May be soldered somwhere to short but I just cannot find it.

For that reason I will just move all that section to a separate board and connect just wire here and there
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:45 AM   #13
ipo3nk
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

hopefully this schematic help.

the z41 is 18v, & c41 100uf
theese parts & all secondary caps always fail after 3+ years operation.

thats why they only gave 2 years warranty. WTF!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Blue Strom II 500W.pdf (167.6 KB, 131 views)
ipo3nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:38 AM   #14
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: Fortron BlueStorm II (FSP500-60GLY) nothing but +5V SB

Oh thanks bro, I am gonna definitelly use this. There is even more ore less whole PSU diagram in there, lets plagiate
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?