I broke my 6700xt after doing a copper shim mod

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I broke my 6700xt after doing a copper shim mod

Hi, I broke my 6700xt after doing a copper shim mod, w/ thermal paste and pads on everything. Probably a bad idea, but IDK exactly what went wrong. I'll make a post later with some pics/ diagrams. But currently , there's no output, even in Linux. And I've started making my own schematic in LTSpice and marking up some pictures of it.

And I've never worked on a GPU before, but I'm pretty familiar with LV power electronics.

I see some 5700xt's look pretty similar, anyone know were to find some good threads/discussions, or info stuff similar to 6700xt and it's IC's ? How similar are the r7/r9 cards, then the rx400's, rx500's ??

I've downloaded a lot of the IC datasheets already, but there's none for the vcore VRM controller IR35217.

Also I'm just learning the names of some of the voltage rails on a GPU, and then AMD vs NV names and voltages aren't exactly the same. I've seen 1 video on the startup sequences.

my 6700xt seems to have no shorts. I just finished washing it again, I literally put TIM all over the place, under the thermal pads and copper shims. Pretty soon I'll have to try it with a PSU and PCIe 1x cable, just for power, see what rails are really working.

Re: I broke my 6700xt after doing a copper shim mod

The history was, I did the thermal pad and shim mod, then after that it would load into a new windows install, w/ DDU disabling the intel iGPU update, but I would get a black screen, as the AMD drivers installed. Same thing on another PC.

So I took it apart, cleaned it fairly well, and only put back new thermal pads. But the same thing was happening, even in Linux.