Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2018, 07:55 PM   #21
megaraider
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Porto
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 229
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
HA ! I managed to get it going using an EEPROM I ripped from a TV board. It's THIS thing...apparently there WERE some differences between the one I got new and these ones. I'll start messing with it soon. Right now I just quickly wrote the original code back to it just to test it.
stj had already pointed out the your mistake...

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
bad move.

24c00 upto atleast 24c08 is 8bit, but at some point they switched to 16bit!

See the attached picture for differences in device addressing between 8 bits vs. 16 bits arrangement


IMO the hookup is nothing but trouble
From the picture on your 1st post not only you have plenty of spare space as well as the e2prom header!
Use the header, add another header for the remaining e2prom pins (SDA, SDL & WP do not seem to be connected to the existing header),
and insert a micro-switch in series with the power e2prom pin (so you won’t have to hold the processor in reset / halt state while programming the e2prom).
Attached Images
File Type: png DeviceAddressing_8bits-vs-16bits.png (21.7 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by megaraider; 04-18-2018 at 07:56 PM..
megaraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 11:57 PM   #22
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Think I'll solder it back in anyway since I'm done messing with the code for now. It's all hardware now I think
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 02:16 AM   #23
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,968
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

did you change the timers for power-off and backlight? i hope so!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 02:19 AM   #24
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

No I didn't...don't mind the auto power off and I never use the backlight. What was the issue with the auto power off that everybody was complaining about ? I can't remember. Was it too short or too long ?
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 03:15 AM   #25
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

I'm ready to try the button. First, dumb question: what's the pinout for this chip ? Where does the numbering start ? The datasheet doesn't quite make it obvious. Which one is pin 1 ? Red arrow or blue arrow ? Logic would dictate it's the blue arrow because of the way the text is oriented. So apparently, for MAX/MIN, I should connect pin 23 to pin 26, which should be on the side that's mostly unconnected on the right, towards those header holes. Assuming it operates like the select button, I'd connect it (tap the button) once to enter MAX, then again to enter MIN and again to exit, at least that's what I read and what the meters which have the function normally do.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180419_120322 - Copy.jpg (599.8 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by Dannyx; 04-19-2018 at 03:17 AM.. Reason: Added picture
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 10:27 PM   #26
megaraider
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Porto
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 229
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
I'm ready to try the button. First, dumb question: what's the pinout for this chip?
This picture answer your question plus all you need for in circuit e2prom programming.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg i2c-pinout.jpg (617.5 KB, 42 views)
megaraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 03:22 AM   #27
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,968
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

yea, pin1 is where it says "c3"

timers are too short - that's the timer issue.

Last edited by stj; 04-21-2018 at 03:24 AM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 04:33 AM   #28
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

No need for the arduino - I have a programmer which I used and it's working now as I've said. It was the wrong IC (despite both being 24c02). Ok, so I got the pinout down too...moving on
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 11:44 PM   #29
megaraider
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Porto
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 229
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
No need for the arduino (...)
In circuit eeprom programming not restricted to arduino
you can do it with the programmer you're using and avoid the hookup mess in any future mods if need
megaraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 03:44 AM   #30
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

I avoided that because I thought it'd interfere with the main IC...at least that's what I read somewhere...not necessarily true.
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 05:49 PM   #31
megaraider
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Porto
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 229
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
I avoided that because I thought it'd interfere with the main IC...at least that's what I read somewhere...not necessarily true.
Thatís why you also need to connect the RESET line (pin 55) to ground (GND) while in circuit eeprom programming and thereby eliminating any interference
megaraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 01:24 AM   #32
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Question Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Just soldered some thin pieces of wire to pins 23 and 26. However nothing's happening...either I'm doing something wrong or it's not that simple...I doubt all it took was a missing button after all

I believe THIS is the russian site you guys were mentioning. I came across it even before attempting this, but they didn't make it very clear how they managed to add the extra buttons. They just show some pictures of it working. Another thing is that my meter doesn't have the 0660 IC in it, but rather a 1106EN which MAY be different in some way...couldn't find a datasheet for this exact one. I also noticed in the datasheet for the 0660 that there's two different schematics: one on page 17 and the other on page 18. The first one shows the pins for the MAX/MIN button connected just as suggested so far: pins 23 and 26, however the other page shows them as 41-44...which one is it ? The bottom of the page says for FIG and DIE respectively...what is that ? My limited knowledge would tell me that "DIE" refers to those chip "blobs" some meters have, whereas FIG is the QFP package ? :| Just a hunch...

There's another thing I noticed: page 8 of the datasheet under MAX/MIN states the following: press after entering MANUAL mode to activate MAX/MIN bla bla...or at least that's what I could make out from the fairly broken English there, so if that's the case, I'll also have to add the RANGE button to switch it from AUTO to MANUAL and THEN press the MAX/MIN button....UUUUGH
Attached Files
File Type: pdf DTM0660---.zh-CN.en.pdf (773.3 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by Dannyx; 04-23-2018 at 02:26 AM.. Reason: Added link
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 02:35 AM   #33
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,968
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

that's the forum, if you look there for references to the zotek 101/102 or the aneng 8002 you will find a lot more info.
it uses the same chip and was the meter that got all this hacking started.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 02:53 AM   #34
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Yeah but the majority of people don't care about that feature....I seem to be the only one who's been dying for one but never seemed to get it on any meter...is it really that difficult ?

Funny, this thread has showed up as the first result on google during a couple of my search sessions.....doesn't look good so far. Don't think it can be done, at least not on this meter, since I've seen talks and even pics of other hacked ones on the first page of that Kazus forum.

Last edited by Dannyx; 04-23-2018 at 03:49 AM..
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2021, 01:04 AM   #35
bobale
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: LE
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Dannyx, did you manage to hack MIN MAX in the end?
bobale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2021, 11:27 AM   #36
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,107
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobale View Post
Dannyx, did you manage to hack MIN MAX in the end?
No and I gave up on the idea since. I got a couple of meters in the meantime which have the feature out of the box...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2021, 11:54 AM   #37
bobale
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: LE
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

Ok, never mind then
bobale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2021, 12:38 PM   #38
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,968
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

maybe it has to be enabled in the eeprom.
unfortunatly i never found any link between the buttons and eeprom in the datasheet - i wanted to enable the serial port!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2021, 01:42 PM   #39
bobale
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: LE
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 14
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

I've been looking to buy UT210E for years now, and I've finally bought one yesterday. I've never gave it second thought about MIN/MAX, but just now I've realised that it is quite useful function, so I've Googled far and wide about enabling it, but came up short. This thread is the only place I've managed to find where somebody is trying to enable MINMAX.
bobale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2021, 03:14 PM   #40
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,968
Default Re: Hacking the Uni-T UT210E

to use min/max on a meter you first need to enable manual ranging - not autoranging.
maybe that's the issue?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?