Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2021, 02:08 PM   #1
neuralnet
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: Bristol
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default RT809F faulty?

Hi all,

I have recently purchased the RT809F and am doing some test dumps/erase/reads of bios chips before I attempt anything in anger. While my unit is capable of identifying the correct chip types, it keeps telling me there is no chip attached.

I've tried both the clip and the spring loaded holder that came with the unit, both are giving me the same result. I've cleaned the legs of my test chips with alcohol, lightly sanded them and cleaned them up with an eraser! Here's an example;

001: Serial number:20210324115525-026373, Programmer firmware version: V5.0 .
002: Auto identified 44 ID is match with the partnumber.
003: http://www.ifix.net.cn/thread-2550-1-3.html
004: The currently selected:W25Q64BV, capacity: 64Mbits, 8Mbytes.
005: >------------------------------------OK---------------------------------------<

At this point I click 'Erase'

006: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!
007: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!
008: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!

Click 'Ignore'

009: Chip ID verification OK.
010: UniqueID:0x35174383312465D1
011: Start erasing chip, please be patient......
012: Erase successful£¬Elapsed time£º21.16 seconds¡£
013: Auto blank checking...
014: Blank check successful£¬Elapsed time£º13.05 seconds¡£
015: Erase successful£¬Elapsed time£º34.21 seconds¡£
016: >------------------------------------OK---------------------------------------<

Chip Erased. I then try writing an image;

017: C:\USERS\USER\DESKTOP\99FXAUD7.11D
018: C:\USERS\USER\DESKTOP\99FXAUD7.11D
019: File has been loaded, checksum: 16bits_0x9300 £¬32bits_0x71319300 :
020: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!
021: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!
022: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!

Again I have to click 'Ignore' to proceed;

023: Chip ID verification OK.
024: UniqueID:0x35174383312465D1
025: Start writing chip......
026: Auto erasing...
027: Erase successful£¬Elapsed time£º20.77 seconds¡£
028: Start writing...
029: Write successful£¬Elapsed time£º25.84 seconds¡£
030: Auto verifying...
031: Verification successful£¬Elapsed time£º2.979 seconds¡£
032: Status register1 values: 0x0, Status register2 values: 0x2 .
033: Elapsed time: 28.85 seconds£¬average speed of 290736 bytes/sec.
034: >------------------------------------OK---------------------------------------<

Click Verify to check that the chip has been written to;

035: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!
036: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!
037: No chip on the adapter, or socket locking not properly!

Again I have to click 'Ignore' to proceed

038: Chip ID verification OK.
039: UniqueID:0x35174383312465D1
040: Start verifying chip......
041: Chip verification OK, Elapsed time: 2.984 seconds, average speed of 2811195 bytes/sec.
042: >------------------------------------OK---------------------------------------<

Verification apparently successful. After erasing the chip, and reading it back I get 'Chip is empty, all are 0xFF!', the contents change after writing the image.. So why at every step does it say that there is no chip and I have to 'Ignore' to get the programmer to do anything? This doesn't give me any confidence that this unit is working as it should.. Should I return it ? Is this experience common?
neuralnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 02:42 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,968
Default Re: RT809F faulty?

try a different usb cable first - and use a different socket on the computer too.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 03:51 PM   #3
neuralnet
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: Bristol
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: RT809F faulty?

Thanks for the suggestions. Tried both different cable and a front port instead of rear, got the same and a new error;

026: Programmer is connected error.
neuralnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 02:17 AM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,968
Default Re: RT809F faulty?

sounds like a faulty programmer.
i would try it on a different machine just to confirm 100% that it's the programmer.
but right now i'm already 99% sure it's the problem
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?