Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2021, 02:32 AM   #1
lapfix
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: my house
My Country: my workshop
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,008
Default Thermal Camera FLIR One Gen3 advise .

Hello friends , i have the opportunity to buy Thermal Camera FLIR One Gen 3 to use it for detecting any short to ground at the motherboard ..
I m asking if someone have use it and what's is his opinion/advise.
Thank youy
lapfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2021, 08:21 AM   #2
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,918
Default Re: Thermal Camera FLIR One Gen3 advise .

I dont have one, so no idea. One advise though-Invest in 30V or higher dc supply with 10Amps.That'll help in detecting short in SOC mb where you cant go up then 1V.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2021, 09:33 AM   #3
lapfix
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: my house
My Country: my workshop
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,008
Default Re: Thermal Camera FLIR One Gen3 advise .

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcplslg123 View Post
I dont have one, so no idea. One advise though-Invest in 30V or higher dc supply with 10Amps.That'll help in detecting short in SOC mb where you cant go up then 1V.
thank you mcplslg ; yes i have power supply 30v/5amp and i use it always to detect wich component get hot...but sometims i can't localised + thermal cam make me win time
lapfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 12:44 AM   #4
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,918
Default Re: Thermal Camera FLIR One Gen3 advise .

Thats it-your dc supply is 5A. Invest in 10Amps dc supply so that u can inject more current to find short specially on SOC architecture.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 03:38 AM   #5
lapfix
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: my house
My Country: my workshop
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,008
Default Re: Thermal Camera FLIR One Gen3 advise .

thank you again...i always choose 1 volt and 2 amp trying to find hot component..maybe 3v for 3/5 valwys whith 2 amp...but many times i can t find any hot component that s why i m decided to buy a themal cam ....unless you have a better thechnique for finding hot component !
lapfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?