Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2021, 07:32 AM   #1
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Aoc e2070s No power

I have this monitor, it doesnt power up.
The voltage on the connector CN902 is only 4,5V instead of 19V.
With a quick test I see the voltage on pin 6 of transformer T902 is going crazy from 150 to 250V (tested in DC mode).
Diodes and Q901 seem ok. Any suggestions?
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 3E3D7894-02B4-423A-8F61-783DF41C8686.jpeg (336.7 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpeg CCB2BF1F-D4DE-4FED-BD98-41E927507479.jpeg (436.8 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by Sraros; 01-24-2021 at 07:34 AM..
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 07:45 AM   #2
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,054
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

Whatd dc voltage do you have between the two legs of the large 47uF 450V capacitor

What is the part number on U901
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Last edited by dick_barton; 01-24-2021 at 07:47 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 08:45 AM   #3
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

300V steady

Q901:SMK0465
U901: AS358M

Last edited by Sraros; 01-24-2021 at 08:53 AM..
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 09:32 AM   #4
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,054
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

That voltage appears low considering it's a 450V capacitor.

Last edited by dick_barton; 01-24-2021 at 09:53 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 10:09 AM   #5
lotas
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
That voltage appears low considering it's a 450V capacitor.
In this circuit 300v. the norm, there is no PFC here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg power Aoc E2070s.jpg (44.1 KB, 5 views)
lotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 10:27 AM   #6
lotas
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sraros View Post
300V steady

Q901:SMK0465
U901: AS358M
U901 cannot be AS358M (LOW POWER DUAL OPERATIONAL AMPLIFIERS).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg U901.JPG (67.6 KB, 9 views)
lotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 11:43 AM   #7
lotas
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

Here is a diagram that might help you figure it out.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Power Supply Philips 715G7300P02001001C.pdf (200.2 KB, 6 views)
lotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 01:59 PM   #8
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,054
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

What voltage do you have across C922

With your meter set to diode mode and the set switched off have you checked D901 and D904
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 05:19 PM   #9
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

D901 is ok. 339 and infinity. D904 doesnt exist, but whatever, I guess it was just to split the load.
@lotas U901 well, it is AS358M, look at the photo.
C922 is jumping from 12,3V to 15,1V!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg E0CC7FAA-31DC-46C4-9530-35DC13B6D364.jpg (450.6 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by Sraros; 01-24-2021 at 05:48 PM..
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 02:50 AM   #10
lotas
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

@lotas U901 well, it is AS358M, look at the photo.


AS358M is U801 and U901 is PF6003AG (sot23-6).
lotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 04:37 AM   #11
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
@lotas U901 well, it is AS358M, look at the photo.


AS358M is U801 and U901 is PF6003AG (sot23-6).
Yes, sorry! You are totally right only that it’s PF6003AH
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 08:12 AM   #12
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,054
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

I found a reference on the internet that said the PF6003 can be a replacement for LD5532GS

The data sheet for the LD5532GS says that when capacitor C922 voltage reaches 16V then the IC starts to operate and drive the mosfet. This initial voltage to charge C922 comes from the resistor chain R924/925/939/937/926

When the voltage across C922 reaches 16 volts the mosfet is driven and the feedback winding on the transformer T902 maintains the voltage on C922 via R920 & D903

I would check those components especially C922

It also says on page 12 of the pdf that the IC can be turned off if the COMP pin of the LD5532 is taken below 1.5V. The Comp pin would be the FB pin on the PF6003
Attached Files
File Type: pdf LD5532-DS-00.pdf (353.8 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by dick_barton; 01-25-2021 at 08:22 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 01:33 PM   #13
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

So, I checked with an LCR tester the cap C922 and is ok. ESR 2Ω for 4,7uF 50V.
Also all the diodes seem ok.
So I checked on voltage mode as many components as possible. The voltage between ground and C922 is steady -80V (black lead in ground). Everything looks steady in general except the drain, which ofc is attached also to the leg6 of the transformer, and it makes me wonder maybe Q901 is not working right and causing the fault...
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 02:51 PM   #14
lotas
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

80 volts is a lot.
The voltage on the C922 must be measured on the capacitor itself, this power supply has different gnd (one in the primary, another in the secondary).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg secondary.JPG (76.4 KB, 6 views)
lotas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 03:05 PM   #15
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
80 volts is a lot.
The voltage on the C922 must be measured on the capacitor itself, this power supply has different gnd (one in the primary, another in the secondary).
Yes right between the legs of C922: trembling from 12,5V to 15,1V

I read again also what dick_barton said. Now I understood what you meant and how it works

Last edited by Sraros; 01-25-2021 at 03:07 PM..
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 05:06 PM   #16
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

I swapped the capacitor C922 with a new one and still the same.
The diode D903 is S1M.
https://www.vishay.com/docs/88711/s1.pdf

Can I replace with a diode 1N4007 for testing?
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 05:23 PM   #17
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,054
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

The diode is probably an Schottky diode due to the high frequency of the transformer switching. The 4007 is a general purpose diode not suitable as a replacement.
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 04:13 AM   #18
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,054
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

Test the diodes (D902, D903 & D905) using your meter in diode mode. Two readings per diode by reversing the leads for the second reading.

Have you checked Q901. Plenty of Youtube videos showing how to.

Did you check the resistor network I mentioned since if they have increased in value then the initial VCC voltage for U901 will not be correct.

Last edited by dick_barton; 01-26-2021 at 04:19 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2021, 02:28 PM   #19
Sraros
Senior Member
 
Sraros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Athens
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Aoc e2070s No power

I checked the diodes they are all fine.
MOSFET Q901:
I followed instructions from youtube
When it’s in the PCB:
OFF state S-D infinity, charging the gate and then S-D still infinity.
But if I take out of the PCB the MOSFET, and charge the gate then S-D: 340

The resistor chain is fine each one of them

Last edited by Sraros; 01-26-2021 at 02:39 PM..
Sraros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:42 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?