Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SSI_400_14A01 Rev0.1 Backlight Inverter, Original or Updated Board?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SSI_400_14A01 Rev0.1 Backlight Inverter, Original or Updated Board?

Hey everyone,

A friend of mine's 40" LCD T.V. needs replacement of the backlight inverter which has the infamous black screen no sound issue. I know ebay has the original units (SSI_400_14A01 Rev0.1) available for purchase but before I do, I was wondering if it would be better to purchase the updated version of the board which is basically the same part no. but instead 'Rev0.2'? I've attached a couple of pictures below of the original (left) and the newer board (right) for comparison. Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files

Re: SSI_400_14A01 Rev0.1 Backlight Inverter, Original or Updated Board?

Are you certain that the original board has failed or have one of the CCFL tubes failed due to age?
    Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

Originally posted by dick_barton View Post
      Are you certain that the original board has failed or have one of the CCFL tubes failed due to age?
      To be honest, I've been going off of youtube videos & online research only. I did manage to pull the board and take a look at it and there were what appear to be burn marks on both sides of the board; the bottom has them (brown blemishes) right under the transformers. Various sources stated that you can check if its the inverter by shining a bright light close to the screen in a dark room and if you are still able to see somewhat of an image, its most likely the inverter; I did try out this quick test and did see an image btw. When I turn the t.v. on, I get no sound and a black screen. Can bad CCFL tubes cause these symptoms as well?

Comment

If a single tube fails then it can lead to no backlight. You do say that you can see an image using a bright light so you should have sound as well.