Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2020, 07:43 AM   #1
Xenon-Codex
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Kontiolahti
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

AEG BSS 4812 only blinks its red light. No sound even from aux, and the bluetooth is not visible to cellphone. When I plug it to computer via USB, a microphone device appears. So the power supply seems to be working.
The board says CCY audio Monitor50i-M. I can't find any information.

Last edited by Xenon-Codex; 06-04-2020 at 08:13 AM..
Xenon-Codex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 07:23 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,511
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

Please show us pictures of the top and bottom side of the boards. There may be many sub-power supplies, Voltage regulators, buck/boost converter... that will need to be checked.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 10:18 AM   #3
Xenon-Codex
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Kontiolahti
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

It seems to be a generic chinese board. First pic shows two missing capacitors, I removed those.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2520.jpg (711.6 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2521.jpg (649.4 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2522.jpg (689.9 KB, 21 views)
Xenon-Codex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 08:21 AM   #4
Xenon-Codex
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Kontiolahti
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

If I heat the top left area within 1 inch of the corner, it starts to work. I tried with a piece of cardboard to prevent other areas to heat. The chip is a CD4052BM and the smaller one has no markings.
Xenon-Codex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 10:56 AM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,175
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

4052 is an analog switch - probably for selecting the source.
some small caps in that area too.

i notice it has conductive/corrosive brown glue in places!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 01:19 PM   #6
Xenon-Codex
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Kontiolahti
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

How does that glue come off, with IPA?
Xenon-Codex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 08:02 AM   #7
Xenon-Codex
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Kontiolahti
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

If I heat the corner too little, the light blinks barely visible until I press the button to change input. Then it blinks normally, i.e. the fault is on.
Xenon-Codex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 01:39 PM   #8
Xenon-Codex
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Kontiolahti
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

The capacitor in the middle of the top edge was forgotten one, I changed it and so far the speakers have worked every time I switched them on.
Xenon-Codex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 08:45 PM   #9
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,188
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenon-Codex View Post
The capacitor in the middle of the top edge was forgotten one, I changed it and so far the speakers have worked every time I switched them on.
Good work figure out what was wrong with it
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 08:19 AM   #10
Xenon-Codex
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Kontiolahti
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: AEG bluetooth active speaker fault

This seems to be a common fault with this amplifier board/speaker model.
Xenon-Codex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:30 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?