Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2020, 03:49 AM   #21
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,951
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Thanks, there's a green cap blocking the view of most of the black chip, guess I could take it out, the damn pads keep wanting to lift on me, hard for me to deal with these little boards, I'll never complain about a big tv powerboard after dealing with these, lol, I know they're not tiny but my 20/20 vision is long gone.
If you're pulling pads, try turning the temperature down on your iron a little. It's not uncommon to have to remove components to be able to access or see others.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 12:27 PM   #22
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Thanks Budm, measured the KIA324P's:
speaker off and powered on: 1=6.3 on=5.9 6=6.2 on=5.8 12=4.9 on=4.7
7=6.2 on=5.8 13=5.1 on=4.7
2=6.2 on=5.9 8=5.1 on=4.8 14=5.1 on=4.8
3=6.1 on=5.7 9=5.0 on=4.8
4=13.6 on=12.7 10=5.0 on=4.7
5=6.1 on=5.7 11=0 on=0 both chips measure the same.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 06-27-2020 at 12:31 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 01:21 PM   #23
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,504
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

How about the power amplifiers TA?
Did you make the probe yet?
Also you need to try using stereo headphone to see if all the controls work OK or not.
The little board with the small IC4560 is the headphone amplifiers fro driving headphone with the switched jack that will cut out the signals to the TA power amp and the sub woofer output when headphone is plugged in.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 06-27-2020 at 02:25 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 04:02 PM   #24
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Do I need something like this or is there even a more simple build? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GVZWRinypU

Last edited by nomoresonys; 06-27-2020 at 04:29 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 04:38 PM   #25
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,504
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

That is fine, same concept as I suggested in the link, nothing complicate, very simple.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 11:57 PM   #26
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
If you're pulling pads, try turning the temperature down on your iron a little. It's not uncommon to have to remove components to be able to access or see others.
Really? That's absolutely fantastic, PURE GENIUS, specially the remove something to see something, thanks a load, I really don't know what we would do without you.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 01:00 PM   #27
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

I made this simple amplifier: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyRwzXMm0FE
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 01:09 PM   #28
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Used this mosfet: http://www.remcomplekt.ru/datasheet/...z/SSH7N90A.PDF
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 01:28 PM   #29
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Was trying to put up pictures but the camera refuses to connect, I made this probe, the end of the probe is just the 2 wires, wonder if I can use the probe and amp to troubleshoot the speakers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEcyDzYAsuU
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 01:47 PM   #30
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,504
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

The link I gave you use the powered PC speaker attached to the probe that I told the OP to make, basically the same as the one in your probe video. Don't you have any PC powered speaker around or any audio amplifiers?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 01:56 PM   #31
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Had one extra set, tried to make them work but couldn't get any sound from the probe, they just hummed, no reaction when I touched the probe end to anything, no audio amps but the one I made works.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 07-02-2020 at 01:58 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 02:13 PM   #32
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

I bought a small premade amp but won't get it for at least a week.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 02:27 PM   #33
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,504
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Had one extra set, tried to make them work but couldn't get any sound from the probe, they just hummed, no reaction when I touched the probe end to anything, no audio amps but the one I made works.
You should be able to probe the audio output of the PC feeding the Gateway speaker since the Gateway is getting the audio signal so it should be present. The ground of the probe is connected to the circuit ground of what you are probing, correct?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 03:54 PM   #34
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Had the ground on the heatsink of acl's, maybe that was wrong?
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 04:42 PM   #35
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,504
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

You just have to Ohm it out, or you can just use the negative leg of the main filter cap.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 03:02 PM   #36
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Thinking about switching the big cap 2200uf with a 4700uf that I have on hand, do you think it will hurt anything to go up that high? voltage is 35 the 2200 is 25, I might have a 3300 somewhere.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 07-03-2020 at 03:21 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 03:28 PM   #37
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

How much can I check with just the multimeter?
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 03:29 PM   #38
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,504
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

At this point I would not deal with the main filter cap yet, higher capacitance will cause higher inrush current for the wallwart.
BTW, did you try using stereo headphone to see if both channels work OK or not, if it does that will help narrowing down the problem.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 03:31 PM   #39
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,632
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

Oh crap my bad, I thought I reported but didn't, I tried the headphones and they work good, full volume and all.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 04:08 PM   #40
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38,504
Default Re: Old Gateway 2000 speakers out of sorts.

So that means all the pots are OK, preamp section are OK all the way to the headphone amplifier board, so I would probe the input pins and the output pins of the TA IC with your audio probe next.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?