Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2020, 04:43 AM   #1
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,309
Default digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

this one landed here . owner said he plugged in a lightening connector converter to hdmi then the picture and sound went off . i am wondering if its a firmware problem ?
from what i can figure out the voltages seem to be ok . i can check any again if needed .
what it does as soon as its plugged in is the standby light flashes then the backlights come on then it flashes some more and goes out . backlights stay on for a minute or so then go off .sometimes it goes through this 2 or 3 times on its own .all the while backlights are off there is a very quiet click sound from the speakers like its tripping . there is no response using the remote or pressing rear toggle switch/button
here are some pics .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200724_111834.jpg (463.4 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg 20200724_111846.jpg (435.0 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg 20200724_111854.jpg (418.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20200723_145637.jpg (273.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20200723_144216.jpg (299.7 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by petehall347; 07-24-2020 at 04:47 AM..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 05:07 AM   #2
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,949
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

digihome are quite good they have sent me the firmware in the past for a few sets
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 05:09 AM   #3
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,309
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

i will look them up and ask them
edit ..
just looked and digihome seems to be just a name and the sets are made by vestel .did you mean i can get firmware from vestel ?

Last edited by petehall347; 07-24-2020 at 05:12 AM..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 05:21 AM   #4
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,949
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

sorry i just looked through my old emails it was http://www.umc-uk.co.uk/feedbackform.php who helped me not digihome maybe post in the fimware needed thread as some members seem too be able too help with vestel sets
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 09:54 AM   #5
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,309
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

i found this but cant figure out where to download the 2 files . https://translate.google.co.uk/trans...search&pto=aue
17MB211 17MB211S Full Software Installation Method:
the shredder_usb_update.b
shredder_usb_update.sc is
Copy the named files into the empty and formatted FAT32 USB stick.

Plug the USB memory into the TV's USB-1 port and while holding down the “ OK ” button of the remote control, plug the ac cable into the wall socket and hold it until the standby led starts to flash quickly.

Release the “ OK ” button when the standby led starts to flash quickly . When the standby led lights up, software installation process is completed.

As a result of this process, do not install " FULL " software with different serial numbers on the TV since the panel information will change !
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 11:31 AM   #6
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,309
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

i am wondering about the 12v supply as its at 11.3v . would this cause the problem ?
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 11:46 AM   #7
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,925
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
i found this but cant figure out where to download the 2 files . https://translate.google.co.uk/trans...search&pto=aue
Just above the comments there are 5 links, Vestel, Toshiba, Telefunken, Hitachi and JVC, they go to google drives, they won't work from the translate page, you have to go from the original.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 11:52 AM   #8
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,309
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

yes i already have the core file . as i see it i need the other 2 files
the shredder_usb_update.b
shredder_usb_update.sc is


unless i am being a bit thick here .?
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 02:27 PM   #9
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,309
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

well then ..just talked to the owner again and now he tells me the tv worked fine for 2 days after he had used the lightning/hdmi converter then one day wouldn't power on ..and he runs it off a modified sine wave power inverter . but had been fine for months .
he had it in his head it must be the hdmi converter that damaged it ..i dont think so myself .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 05:50 PM   #10
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,309
Default Re: digihome ptdr24hds3 backlight only no picture

righto i might have time to look at this again .if anyone sees this post i would like to know the test points to start with . i find it hard when the schematics are not in one .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?