Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2022, 05:09 PM   #1
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

I've got a UT139C that powers on for a second with an ErrE, before switching itself back off.

I haven't found much information about this, other then the error being caused by the EEPROM (both on the internet and from fellow members here). While I'm using a cheaper multimeter temporarily, I'm trying to troubleshoot this... hoping it won't go to trash

I've opened it up and did a visual inspection. Unfortunately I couldn't see anything obvious, everything looks clean and as new. No signs of damaged components.

I'm attaching two photos: one of the eeprom area, and the other I think are the rails on the back that end up to the eeprom (?). Also attaching datasheets.

And because I'm doing this to learn, and I'm still new to this, I have a couple questions.

1. What are the components starting with L? I know C are usually caps, while R are resistors, F fuses and so on.
2. Laugh at me, but, where do you find ground on these 2 layer boards? On laptops it's easy cause these are usually screw holes/ports etc.... What am I missing?

Thanks a lot
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20220107_000122.jpg (1.23 MB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20220107_000433.jpg (573.0 KB, 18 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf T24C02A-First-RankTechnology.pdf (244.4 KB, 4 views)
File Type: pdf DTM0660.pdf (172.0 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by DanFen; 01-06-2022 at 05:12 PM..
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 07:18 PM   #2
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 869
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Look here
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testge...matics-avail)/
lotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 07:20 PM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,839
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

L are inductors.

do you have an eeprom programmer?
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 01:59 AM   #4
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Thanks, will go through it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
Hello again! Not yet, but on delivery. Went for the RT809F.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
L are inductors.

do you have an eeprom programmer?
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 03:20 AM   #5
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 869
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Here are two original and modified firmwares for UT139C.
Attached Files
File Type: rar UT139C.rar (393 Bytes, 13 views)
lotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 03:36 AM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,839
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

backup the original first, it has calibration data in it
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2022, 02:40 PM   #7
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

I know it's been a while, but I just got to do this now. Wrote the shared bin to the IC, re-soldered it back, and still getting the same error :/

I also de-soldered the IC and read it again just to make sure that it got programmed correctly. Then compared it to the shared hex and they are the same... which concludes that the programming was fine.

Last edited by DanFen; 07-16-2022 at 02:51 PM..
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2022, 08:09 PM   #8
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,626
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Post the EEPROM file you have, to see if it can be fixed.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2022, 02:14 AM   #9
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

This is the backup (the one I had before I wrote the shared one).
Attached Files
File Type: zip AT24C02A_20220716_221142_FIRST.zip (381 Bytes, 2 views)
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 12:20 PM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,839
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

check the tracks between the eeprom and the main chip.
here is a schematic of another meter with the same chipset,
and a datasheet with example schem on page 17
Attached Files
File Type: pdf schema.pdf (606.9 KB, 6 views)
File Type: pdf DTM0660 (auto-translated).pdf (838.3 KB, 5 views)
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 12:41 PM   #11
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Will try Is that done with the EEPROM back in circuit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
check the tracks between the eeprom and the main chip.
here is a schematic of another meter with the same chipset,
and a datasheet with example schem on page 17
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 02:43 PM   #12
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,626
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

I looked at your EEPROM dump with a hex editor and did not see any errors. I can't know what every byte should be, but I did not see anything corrupt.
Check the EEPROM pullup resistors on SDA and SCL are OK, is R29 soldered on both sides? The main IC DTM0660 looks like solder balls are behind/under the pins?
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 03:00 PM   #13
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Thanks for checking!

All resistors seem to be soldered fine, but I'll re-flow them just in case. I also measured them and the readings are good.

About the solder balls, do you mean in between pins? If so, it doesn't seem like it under the microscope, and I didn't reflow it or touch it in any way.

I also tested in continuity between the DTM0660 and the EEPROM IC, in case there's a broken trace, but all seems fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
I looked at your EEPROM dump with a hex editor and did not see any errors. I can't know what every byte should be, but I did not see anything corrupt.
Check the EEPROM pullup resistors on SDA and SCL are OK, is R29 soldered on both sides? The main IC DTM0660 looks like solder balls are behind/under the pins?
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 03:55 PM   #14
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,626
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

No, the solder bridges I see are UNDER the pins.
You can poke a wire or paper clip (gently) through and see if you hit them. Usually they are solder balls from extra paste and can poke out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg solder bridges.jpg (94.1 KB, 16 views)
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 01:36 AM   #15
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Doesn't seem to be the case, must be the quality of the previous photo

I'm still to re-flow the resistors around the EEPROM area.

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
No, the solder bridges I see are UNDER the pins.
You can poke a wire or paper clip (gently) through and see if you hit them. Usually they are solder balls from extra paste and can poke out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DTM0660.jpg (1,022.8 KB, 10 views)
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 07:43 AM   #16
DanFen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
City & State: My Room
My Country: Malta
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 184
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Reflowed the resistors, still the same. While it seems to be interesting, I don't think it's worth working on it anymore. The only thing I miss about this is that it has auto range, and the other ones I have do not.
DanFen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 09:22 AM   #17
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,839
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

did you check the eeprom is getting power?
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 02:29 PM   #18
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,626
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

For some reason EEPROM power has a R40 100Ω resistor to +V, and it's supposed to have a bypass cap 0.1uF across power and gnd but I don't see it.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 09:02 PM   #19
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Troubleshooting Uni-T EEPROM ErrE

Check with an oscilloscope the data line, clock and the main oscillator for activity.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?