Small RCA TV white screen

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Small RCA TV white screen

I am trying to fix a small RCA TV for a friend. It holds sentimental value for his father. Initially it had what looked like some burned out resistors and would not turn on. I changed out the resistors and now it turns on but I only get a white screen. I have no experience fixing TVs but hope someone can point me in the right direction on what to check or how to proceed. Thanks. Attached are some pictures.
    Attached Files

Re: Small RCA TV white screen

I guess you can start by testing voltages and posting model.
    I assume no responsibility for any stupid suggestions I might post.

Comment

Could be a bad capacitor/s the electrolytic caps are usually the ones that go first, can be bad and not be bulging.

Comment

and check all the solder joints: https://www.google.com/search?q=bad+...ih=607&dpr=1.5

Comment

The plug in picture four looks crooked, make sure it is seated properly. (the flat cable does not just pull out and get pushed back in, the latch must be released) What resistors did you replace that made it turn on, Resistors don't usually burn unless something else is bad.

I guess the redit bot couldn't help 3 months ago
          Last edited by R_J; 06-29-2022, 03:51 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by nomoresonys View Post
            Could be a bad capacitor/s the electrolytic caps are usually the ones that go first, can be bad and not be bulging.
            I've checked all the caps and they all look good.

Comment

Originally posted by R_J View Post
              The plug in picture four looks crooked, make sure it is seated properly. (the flat cable does not just pull out and get pushed back in, the latch must be released) What resistors did you replace that made it turn on, Resistors don't usually burn unless something else is bad.

I guess the redit bot couldn't help 3 months ago