Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2021, 12:48 PM   #1
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,920
Default POE splitter

I'm going to be moving a Lathem PC600 timeclock to a new location and I want to get 12V into it from POE (it's not a POE device)

I found a good isolated splitter

https://www.tycononline.com/GigE-Spl...-Out_p_68.html

Can I get away with using a passive 48v 24w injector? Won't be much distance between them
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 12:18 PM   #2
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 813
Default Re: POE splitter

Just connect 12V adapter to the blue and brown pairs of the LAN cable and crimp only green and orange pairs if the distance is small. I highly doubt that this device will make use of or requires gigabit network. If there is already a POE, then you can use 48V to 12V DC - DC converter like this one
https://www.alibaba.com/product-deta...638716402.html
__________________
Useful conversions. I don't "speak" imperial. Please use metric, if you want to address me.
1km=1000m=100000cm, 1inch=2.54cm, 1mile=1609.344meters, 1ft=30.48cm 1gal(US)=3.785liters, 1lb=453grams, 1oz=28.34grams

Last edited by televizora; 01-28-2021 at 12:21 PM..
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 08:53 PM   #3
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: POE splitter

no I don't need gigabit. I'm looking for something a bit more isolated with protected circuits.
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 12:14 AM   #4
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 813
Default Re: POE splitter

Poe power supply is galvanically insulated itself. And at least the majority do gave overload and short circuit protection
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 02:20 AM   #5
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: POE splitter

Thank you for your answers. In fact thank you for answering most of my questions here when nearly everyone ignores me.

Well he's paying and I don't want to wait for stuff from alibaba.

I don't want to mess with splitting wires or getting anything wrong considering the PC600 doesn't require subscriptions like other very stupid time clocks
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 09:40 AM   #6
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 813
Default Re: POE splitter

Well, excuse my typos. Most of the time I am posting from a phone.
You don't need to wait anything from Alibaba. The link was just an example.
If you go to your local electronics store, they surely have DC-DC converters.
100Mbps POE uses brown and blue wires. 1Gbps POE is something more special.
Because capacitors have infinite DC resistance, they are used as a part of the solution needed in order to separate the DC and AC derivatives of the current, when you use Gigabit POE. Because AC represents the actual signal, while steady DC is power, using the right type of filter allows you to power the device and have gigabit network.
I have my concerns about using Gigabit POE. With 100Mbps one you can just remove the brown and blue wires or crimp only green and orange. With Gigabit POE the device itself must be able to separate the power from the signal or you need to use special converter in order to do so. If you are not careful or you don't know that on the other end of the cable there is POE capable device, you may fry the thing you plug the cable in.
But in every case, if you use only green and orange pairs and connect Blue and Brown pairs to DC-DC converter you can power a device, which is otherwise non POE capable. If you want Gigabit network and to use POE, then things are more complicated.
The reason I am talking about DC-DC converter is that POE splitters are harder to find, especially gigabit ones, but DC-DC converters are widespread and can be found in any electronics store. I bought 12->5V for about 3$. Intended to use it to charge phones. After that I just bought 1DIN multimedia, which comes with USB port and abandoned the project.

Last edited by televizora; 01-29-2021 at 09:47 AM..
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 09:12 PM   #7
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: POE splitter

the reason I selected that one is because of the voltage protection properties

I know they make cheaper 12v ones

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=poe+split...f=nb_sb_noss_2
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 05:03 AM   #8
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 813
Default Re: POE splitter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
the reason I selected that one is because of the voltage protection properties I know they make cheaper 12v ones
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=poe+split...f=nb_sb_noss_2
So...
1. You want to use 50V POE injector.
2. Then you want to use POE splitter.
Seems like you have everything figured out then.
The right thing is to give a link to the injector you want to use.
Just warn the people that there are 50V running thru the cable.
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 06:40 PM   #9
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: POE splitter

Can I use a passive injector optimally? Or do you think active would be better?
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 08:09 AM   #10
televizora
ghettomodmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Bulgaria
My Country: Bulgaria
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 813
Default Re: POE splitter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
Can I use a passive injector optimally? Or do you think active would be better?
I thought that you want to use Active POE injector that is IEEE 802.3 compliant. If you want to use passive injector, it is the same as splicing wires. Passive injectors are nothing more than adapters. Then you don't need 50V, but if the distance is not very long, you can directly supply 12V via the cable.
televizora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 01:59 AM   #11
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: POE splitter

thank you
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?