Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2019, 02:05 PM   #121
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,629
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Sometimes chips will go faulty and overheat by themselves.
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 03:01 PM   #122
electronicsuk
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Lincoln
My Country: United Kingdom
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent24 View Post
Sometimes chips will go faulty and overheat by themselves.
Indeed, although probably not this time. I forgot to mention on my first post thay I also replaced the optocoupler on the SMPS. I've just checked back at some photos I took of the PCB before I started, and it looks like the opto should be a Cosmo K1010C. I've fitted a K1010B. The datasheet shows the 1010B has about 50% of the current transfer ratio of the 1010C, so I suspect it's an issue with incorrect feedback to the Viper.

I suppose this is karma for my lazy repair technique - if I'd spent more time fault finding than replacing lots of components that *might* be the problem, I probably would never have replaced the opto in the first place!

Sadly I can't easily get a 1010C in the UK so I've had to order some from China. I'll report back with how I get on. Will probably replace the Viper as well, just in case the thermal overload has caused any damage.
electronicsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 03:01 PM   #123
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Check and make sure that you do not have a short some where in battery charging circuit or circuits that might why you are seeing the charging current going up and down might be the reason that the Viper 22A is running hot or it could a bad chip however if change it and still run hot I would looking for something low ohm short
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-20-2019 at 03:05 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 09:31 PM   #124
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,240
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Can we see good clear pictures of the whole top and bottom side of the board?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 10:58 AM   #125
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,240
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

BTW, you should also make new thread since your model is not the same as OP.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?