Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2022, 10:37 AM   #1
StasNep
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: IL
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

Hello

I have got a defective Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar, no power from button or remote.
The power supply is external and working correctly, even tried another one.
Checked caps with esr meter and all seems ok.
Checked various resistors and smd capacitors and they seems ok.

Please help to diagnose this SoundBar.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20220219_193041.jpg (887.0 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg 20220219_193045.jpg (1,002.8 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 20220219_193047.jpg (987.0 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 20220220_162732.jpg (538.5 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 20220220_162745.jpg (580.4 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg 20220220_162748.jpg (557.3 KB, 15 views)
StasNep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2022, 12:16 PM   #2
StasNep
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: IL
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

Uploaded service manual.

I don't know how to Check IC201 pin10 And Its conn parts.

Appreciate any help.

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: pdf service.pdf (12.03 MB, 11 views)
StasNep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2022, 01:14 PM   #3
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,137
Default Re: Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

I can see that they used the type of glue that gets brown and conductive and corrosive of metals. You should carefully remove it.
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2022, 04:22 PM   #4
StasNep
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: IL
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

Yeah, i just noticed it and measured, and it is conductive.

What method can you suggest to remove the glue, and that it wont damage the traces of the ic and the surrounding components?
StasNep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2022, 04:35 AM   #5
StasNep
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: IL
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

I have cleaned the glue, it is powering on but all the leds are lit and stuck
on "ON" on the display.
Buttons not working and remote not working.

What to check next?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20220221_122713.jpg (632.1 KB, 19 views)
StasNep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2022, 04:11 AM   #6
StasNep
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: IL
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

I think the soundbar is bricked!?
Maybe reflash the firmware?
Does someone have experience with serial soundbar firmware update?
It has a serial connection and i have all the tools for this.
Any guide will be Appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Serial.JPG (13.2 KB, 10 views)
StasNep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2022, 02:33 AM   #7
StasNep
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: IL
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

Can you tell me plesae if the IC203 - EN25QH16 is the flash chip?
and if it can be flashed with this bin firmware?
https://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/...scy=KR&slg=AEN

I have ch341a programmer.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IC203.JPG (61.1 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg Ic203-1.JPG (103.2 KB, 4 views)
StasNep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2022, 03:24 PM   #8
StasNep
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
City & State: IL
My Country: Israel
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Philips HTL6140B/12 SoundBar no power

Flashing firmware on that chip didnt work.
Any ideas?
StasNep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:26 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?