Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Really new to this, think I messed up a board I'm working on

Hey,

I'm working a TCON board for my TV, unfortunately, I am unable to source the part I need, however, with a bit of modification, a board from a smaller unit in the same line can work instead.

I have needed to remove some caps and eventually, swap out the EPPROM module between the two cards.

I've only ever really worked on wires and bigger bits, so this is my first time needing to remove parts off the board, I've removed an array of caps that are needed to be removed. but I think I've completely frigged it up already.

These are the pads from the removed caps:

It's work mentioning I don't need to replace these, so if I've not done any irripairable damage to the board, no problem other than need to really practice.

Also - an additional question. Could someone tell me where the EPPROM module on this board? I know they're usually six-pin chips but I can count a couple on this board and they look identical, the numbers on them are damn near impossible to read too.

Really appreciate the help

Warmest
    Attached Files

Re: Really new to this, think I messed up a board I'm working on

Can I ask you what type of soldering iron were you using

You really need to use a temperature controlled tweeter soldering iron for this type of work

Even using this type of iron you need to take your time and not get in a hurry doing this type of repair because some of these circuit board are real shit-e quality and if you put to much heat to the pads this will happen

Now the way I do this is to have my iron hot enough that I grab the device and I can take it right off the board and not be on there more than 10 seconds

I hope this helps you
    Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 09-06-2020, 08:27 AM.
    9 PC LCD Monitor
    6 LCD Flat Screen TV
    30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
    10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool