This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DELL GX270 Nichicon boards

Hello all - I'm a newbie here and need some help regarding Nichicon system failuers... I figured where else but 'BadCaps' could I get this info from.. I want to ask a couple of questions.. apologize in advance if you've answered these questions a hundred times before:

1) Our office environment is pretty much exclusive to the DELL Optiplex line (Gx260, Gx270, etc etc).. We were advised by DELL (2 weeks ago) of a Nichicon system board issue on the GX270 model.. Reading message boards, it sounds as if this has been a known issue for a number of months (years even) throughout the industry. Can anyone out there confirm for me when this issue was brought to the attention of DELL Inc?

2) My second question.... My DELL acct rep is telling me it's an "industry-wide" issue affecting all Tier 1 PC companies such as HP, Compaq, IBM etc.. But I have not seen anything out on the boards supporting this argument.. Can anyone confirm that it is affecting companies other than DELL? If so, where can I read about it please.. Has Gartner released any white papers on this issue?
    Thanks in advance guys
    Much appreciated.
    kfs

sorry i moved your thread to an appropriate section

the issue is to do with Nichicon HN(M) and HM(M) series capacitors which fail early. Previously Nichicon was known to be a trusted brand. It has been indicated by posters here that the failures were from caps with date codes of early 2003 and that later Dell boards and also the replacement boards used good quality Rubycon capacitors instead.

the same issue is affecting various intel original motherboards which use the same capacitors. I believe that Intel like Dell did not expect to see fails from Nichicon caps. There is an intel document on the issue but it does not name nichicon. No Dell document has been brought to our attention here.