Samsung PN58B860 Plasma suddenly shutdown and will not restart

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung PN58B860 Plasma suddenly shutdown and will not restart

Newbie here looking for help saving my Plasma...

While watching the TV, it shut down and started clicking and making a high-pitched tone every few seconds like it was trying to restart. Power button was unresponsive.

I unplugged the TV for a few minutes and when it was plugged back the clicking and tone started immediately.

Removing the rear panel, both the noises seem to be coming from the left relay on the power supply board. (At least I'm pretty sure those two black 1" squares are relays.)

I do not see any obvious bad capacitors.
    I unplugged cables from the power supply one at a time to try and track down the issue... Only when I unplug the main board (w/all the AV inputs) do the noises stop, but the TV still does not turn on.

What do I do next?
    Attached Files

Re: Samsung PN58B860 Plasma suddenly shutdown and will not restart

So I'm guessing the power supply is made up of both tan colored boards and not just the one on the left.

I disconnected everything from those boards and jumpered out PS_ON to GND and VS_ON to STD5V. (I couldn't get anything on the other 5.3V pins) With this setup the TV goes through one click and tone cycle and then stops as opposed to repeating like when the main board was still attached.

I also tried leaving the logic board connected and jumping test pins 3 & 4. Same result as above.

Now I'm thinking it's the power supply as I can't get any readings on Vs, Va, or 5.3V.

What else can I check on the power supply boards to find the bad component??

Comment

Here are some better pics of the PSU.
      Attached Files

Comment

Can you try the jumper test, but unplug the Y-main and X-main boards? These are the large left and right hand boards, when looking from the rear of the TV. Then check the Vs and Va.