Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2019, 05:00 AM   #41
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,129
Default Re: DELL OEM H240AS-00 (HIPRO) ~ major blow up!

o.k. it could be a bad output capacitor, diode or opto isolator just for example.
put the original resistor back - it's a fuseable safety part!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 05:04 AM   #42
rayfloyd170
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: eastern province
My Country: saudi arabia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: DELL OEM H240AS-00 (HIPRO) ~ major blow up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
o.k. it could be a bad output capacitor, diode or opto isolator just for example.
put the original resistor back - it's a fuseable safety part!!
thanks for the advice. i will do what you said and give my feedback after that.
rayfloyd170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 08:55 AM   #43
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: DELL OEM H240AS-00 (HIPRO) ~ major blow up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayfloyd170 View Post
Actually before replacing the caps and resistor the PSU will still power up for few seconds...

Note: The resistor was not burned but i just replaced it with a new one with same value but higher wattage 3W as i have seen in previous posts by other members.. Also replaced 2 caps with higher 681pF 2KV.

Now, nothing has changed. it still powers up for few seconds and shuts down automatically.

What could be the other cause? I am not that expert but i know how to use the solder and little of the multi tester.
Are you testing it with a load?
Some power supplies require a load to run properly...
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 12:28 AM   #44
rayfloyd170
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: eastern province
My Country: saudi arabia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: DELL OEM H240AS-00 (HIPRO) ~ major blow up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Are you testing it with a load?
Some power supplies require a load to run properly...

i tried testing it with load and also without load by shorting green pin and black pin. both have same results.
rayfloyd170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:56 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?