Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2019, 04:20 PM   #1
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Just a quick one, what would cause the lines on screen on this in the pics? T-con? Connection/cable? Or is the LCD panel shot??

Apologies for the poor pics, its all thats available
Attached Images
File Type: jpg received_569341967191354.jpg (189.1 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg received_565471477360799.jpg (197.5 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by Bloopeta; 11-21-2019 at 04:27 PM..
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 08:49 AM   #2
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Ok, so actually now have the TV in my possession, so have more info, the pics above were how it was, I have since unplugged Tcon, cleaned connections, plugged back in, and now its worse lol.

Here are the pics as it is now, including pics of it opened up
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191122_144213.jpg (1,015.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_144304.jpg (1.10 MB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_144335.jpg (585.8 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_144346.jpg (585.9 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_144352.jpg (781.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_144357.jpg (533.6 KB, 4 views)
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 09:12 AM   #3
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Turned off, disconnected tcon again, reconnected and turned back on n now looks like this
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191122_151048.jpg (944.8 KB, 7 views)
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 09:47 AM   #4
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Constantly changes all the time, very hard to picture
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191122_154356.jpg (1,004.2 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_154404.jpg (1.11 MB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_151048.jpg (944.8 KB, 7 views)
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 09:58 AM   #5
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,470
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Need to start somewhere, maybe test the tcon, I see lots of test points.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 10:04 AM   #6
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Need to start somewhere, maybe test the tcon, I see lots of test points.
Where would I saart with that please?
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 10:24 AM   #7
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,470
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Maybe try this first: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcBwTums_mI
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 10:32 AM   #8
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,858
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Do these suffer from tab bond issues ?

Last edited by vinceroger69; 11-22-2019 at 10:55 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 10:48 AM   #9
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,470
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloopeta View Post
Where would I saart with that please?
HVIN_12V
VCC_3.3V
VCC_1.8V
VCC_1.2V
VCC_1.1V some there, I don't usually test tcons much so not sure if these voltages are standard from tv to tv or not, you could test those gamma points? but it really doesn't look like a gamma issue to me.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 11-22-2019 at 11:01 AM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 11:18 AM   #10
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Just watched the video, disconnected 1 side at a time, heres the pics.

Also tried wiggling and tapping the bonded tabs, that did nothing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191122_165548.jpg (686.9 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_170010.jpg (759.8 KB, 5 views)
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 11:23 AM   #11
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,657
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...7&d=1574437580
It looks like main board issue.
Did you try heating/cooling the maim board yet?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 11-22-2019 at 11:26 AM..
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 11:33 AM   #12
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...7&d=1574437580
It looks like main board issue.
Did you try heating/cooling the maim board yet?

No not yet, been focusing on Tcon, I will try that now
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 11:53 AM   #13
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,470
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

I don't know if it's dangerous, as in might short something BUT I've seen some get a better or clear picture by adjusting one of the ribbon cables while in the diagnostic mode you are in on the picture, with tv running.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 12:24 PM   #14
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Tried heating then cooling board, also tried playing with ribbon cables whilst switched on picture test screen.

Pic 1 is how the screen looks with nainboard unplugged, pic 2 is how it now looks all connected after trying the above mentioned things
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191122_181328.jpg (450.3 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 20191122_181437.jpg (962.4 KB, 8 views)
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 12:33 PM   #15
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,470
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

So it seems to be changing somewhat, that makes me think it's the tcon.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 12:36 PM   #16
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
So it seems to be changing somewhat, that makes me think it's the tcon.
It changes everytime I do something, rarely the same twice
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 01:17 PM   #17
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,470
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Wonder if that's a match, there's a make offer option also, might want to test your tcon more: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Samsung-4...YAAOSwcrdcv1Gw
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 06:02 AM   #18
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Wonder if that's a match, there's a make offer option also, might want to test your tcon more: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Samsung-4...YAAOSwcrdcv1Gw
Theres quite a few for sale locally, but since moving the ribbons with it switched on, the picture is terrible and no longer changes, so think Tcon is goosed now, and possibly main board, so not prepared to put any money into it.
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 07:21 AM   #19
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,470
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Yep 6-7 years old only 40 inch. not much meat on bone for resale and hard to tell just what's wrong with it.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 08:12 AM   #20
Bloopeta
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
City & State: Hartlepool
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 227
Default Re: Samsung UE40D5520rkxxu lines on screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Yep 6-7 years old only 40 inch. not much meat on bone for resale and hard to tell just what's wrong with it.
Precisely, better using for spares
Bloopeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?