Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2021, 02:54 AM   #1
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Hi all, I have a very nice 65 jvc tv with good ole component inputs. Its dead as it gets no power, no standby light. I know these tv's have issues with eeproms. Anyways here's some pics I cant find a eeprom for my board # on shopjimmy, kinda weird.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0711210441a.jpg (611.3 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg 0711210442.jpg (361.5 KB, 7 views)
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 02:57 AM   #2
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

So this is what I need? That is for a vizio tv not a jvc though. I wonder if that would work?
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 03:02 AM   #3
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Nevermind found the right one right here. I'll keep you guys updated.
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 04:25 PM   #4
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,788
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

See if the main board gets stby voltage first place!
CapLeaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2021, 07:29 PM   #5
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

I just check stby is normal. 19v
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 05:01 PM   #6
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,788
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

19v Stby? Really?
CapLeaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 05:09 PM   #7
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,305
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
19v Stby? Really?
The power supply is an always on power supply that supplies 19v to the main board, The main board has the low voltage regulators.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 05:14 PM   #8
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,305
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super360 View Post
So this is what I need? That is for a vizio tv not a jvc though. I wonder if that would work?
Shopjimmy has the correct eeprom for $15.00. If you have any freeze spray, Unplug the tv, Spray (freeze) the ic, wait 10~20 seconds and plug in the tv and see if it will turn on. Some times this trick will work indicating the eeprom is at fault and allows the tv to be checked. If this does not work, it could still be a bad eeprom.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 07:20 PM   #9
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,788
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

I don’t think the main IC runs on 19V. There must be a buck converter somewhere then on the main board.
CapLeaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 07:42 PM   #10
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,305
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
I don’t think the main IC runs on 19V. There must be a buck converter somewhere then on the main board.
On the main board, +19 supplies UP18?, which outputs +12v,
+19v supplies UP1? which outputs +5VSB. I will find the correct ic numbers, I believe they are up18 & up1

Last edited by R_J; 07-12-2021 at 08:05 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 05:28 AM   #11
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Yea kinda weird right 19v standby like wtf where is the 3.3v, 5v, 12v standard.
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 05:10 AM   #12
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,788
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
On the main board, +19 supplies UP18?, which outputs +12v,
+19v supplies UP1? which outputs +5VSB. I will find the correct ic numbers, I believe they are up18 & up1
Yeah RJ, I can't see that on my lil iPad. Next time I am going to buy the big one. Anyway... still same idea here, by checking the buck regulators that down convert the 19V to 5V STBY. If that buck converter is good, then its either the flash or the main CPU. You can try freezing the flash with a can of air upside down, then turn on the TV with the frozen flash IC. After that I would try backing the whole main board and see if that fixes it.
CapLeaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 03:51 PM   #13
jkb242
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Laguna Niguel, CA.
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 150
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Not to beat a dead horse, but almost without fail the 5vdc reference/stand by voltage is produced on the power supply board. I’m not familiar with your set but in general, that’s pretty much standard throughout the industry. There maybe a 19v-5.0v regulator on the main board but its possible that 5v is for another purpose. Good luck.
jkb242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 05:02 PM   #14
lotas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 147
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

You need to check these power supplies, they correspond to your board
Attached Images
File Type: png STANDBY POWER +5VSB.PNG (124.8 KB, 10 views)
File Type: png +12V POWER.PNG (104.4 KB, 8 views)
File Type: png STANDBY POWER.PNG (100.6 KB, 8 views)
lotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 07:39 PM   #15
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

So I soldered on the eeprom the correct way with the dot facing same direction and now tv is dead not even a red standby light anymore.
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 09:12 PM   #16
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,305
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super360 View Post
So I soldered on the eeprom the correct way with the dot facing same direction and now tv is dead not even a red standby light anymore.
Are you saying you ordered and received a new eeprom? Dot facing same direction? same direction of what? pin 1 is marked on both the ic and the board

Last edited by R_J; 07-21-2021 at 09:14 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 09:43 PM   #17
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

Yes the one I bought from on shop-jimmy on e-bay. I soldered it in and now no stanby light anymore.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0721212340a.jpg (428.6 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 0721212340.jpg (531.7 KB, 10 views)
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 09:48 PM   #18
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

In all honesty I did accidentally muck up this ribbon connector. I ordered a new board from e-bay 30$.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0721212345.jpg (639.6 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 0721212345b.jpg (338.5 KB, 10 views)
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 05:12 AM   #19
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,788
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

If I would have known earlier that this board has an MSD main IC... that's your problem. 9 times out of 10 when I had a main board with the MSD main IC it was bad, not the eeprom.
Looks like there is some questionable (re)soldering work around the MSD IC.
CapLeaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 10:50 AM   #20
Super360
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: USA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 83
Default Re: Jvc EM65FTR 65 No Standby light DEAD

It's funny with tv repair most of the time its easier to just replace boards then screw with all this mess.
Super360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?