Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2022, 02:39 AM   #41
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 60
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
After the 10 years has passed, you need the proof of purchase
I hate this kind of warranty
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 05:13 AM   #42
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by AleXis6 View Post
I think similar due to enough space around.
which supercapacitor you used last time ?
Last time I replaced it with an ELNA DSK-3R3H224U-HL. BTW this part number is still current. Mouser and Digikey have them on back order. So it may be good to wait if time is reasonable. It's about 6.8mm in diameter and height is about 2.8mm.
The other one is 10.5mm diameter and is really going to push it diameter wise. One has to be very careful to place the battery so it won't touch anything else. The height is a problem at 8.5mm. That's not going to fit.
Found some EDLC381420-501-2F-70 which could be taped or glued somewhere. These are way more expensive, but in stock for me and still better than shelling out $370 bucks.

Edit: Turns out DSK-3R3H224U-HL is back in stock @ Digikey on July 4th, 2022. Worth while waiting since it is only a couple of weeks until the new shipment arrives.

Last edited by CapLeaker; 06-22-2022 at 06:15 AM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 10:47 AM   #43
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 60
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
ELNA DSK-3R3H224U-HL
but based on your experience it last just 4 years. may be 1 of the reason that voltage is to high for this supercapacitor.
I will buy Panasonic EECS0HD334H 0,33F 5.5V it bigger, but based onother forum it is ok by size.
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2022, 05:05 PM   #44
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 60
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

I have found a simple approach how to calculate the capacitance.
Charge the supercapacitor through a 1kOhm resistor and measure the time in seconds when the U on the supercapacitor is 0.6331 of the load voltage.
Then multiply the number of seconds by 1000 -> mF
Load 3.0V -> 0.6331*3 = 1.8993V
After 255 seconds the U on the supercapacitor has become 1.8993V, so the capacity is about 255*1000=0.255F this is 23% lower than the nominal I bought 0.33F (+-30%)

AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 02:24 PM   #45
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by AleXis6 View Post
but based on your experience it last just 4 years. may be 1 of the reason that voltage is to high for this supercapacitor.
I will buy Panasonic EECS0HD334H 0,33F 5.5V it bigger, but based onother forum it is ok by size.
I looked at those and they aren't available for me. Meanwhile I needed to do up an order and today they pushed the date back 2 months. Hmm... back to square one.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 04:27 PM   #46
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 60
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by AleXis6 View Post
Panasonic EECS0HD334H 0,33F 5.5V it bigger.


The diameter is close to the maximum possible.
The height is normal and might be even greater.
negative leg has been cut.
But the current consumption has increased in sleep mode from about 10 μA to 60 μA (my another multimeter is not very accurate in this mode).
Also I performed a test before soldering- charge the supercapacitor to 3.0V and keep it for 24 hours, the voltage after that was 2,24V.
I found similar supercapacitor with vertical legs in my stock :-) the voltage after 24 hours was very close to the first one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EECS0-HD334-H-0-33-F-5-5-V.jpg (253.9 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 06-25-2022 at 12:52 AM.. Reason: Offsite image uploaded
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2022, 05:36 PM   #47
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Yeah... I figured that out too that 10.5mm diameter is the biggest that fits in there.
Panasonic EECS0HD334H has been discontinued long time ago. I came up with a Eaton KR-5R5H474-R. However the diameter is 11.5mm.
You can squeeze this in too with wires: TDK EDLC371420-501-2F-50
Anyway... I guess I have to wait until the ELNA DSK-3R3H224U-HL are back in stock in September. Ugh!
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2022, 06:27 AM   #48
willinsau
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
City & State: hampton park
My Country: 澳大利亚
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

waiting for the responses
willinsau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2022, 02:36 PM   #49
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

I did order some different supercaps than those that are mentioned in this thread a week ago, but haven’t come in yet. I will update this thread again once I installed them.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2022, 06:29 AM   #50
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

I replaced that ELNA DSK-3R3H224U-HL with a KEMET FC0V474ZFTBR24 from Mouser. This new cap is much bigger than the old one, but SMD, 3.5V, 0.47F.
The corners on the cap need to be cut and that plastic lid that sits over the board needs to be drilled.

IF you put the unit back together and you canít select anything on DMM and just has a strange behaviour with nothing on the display, the supercap is jammed and shorted out against a different part, guaranteed. Hence the not getting around the drilling part in my case.

Here is more FLUKE porn for your entertainment.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2022, 09:00 AM   #51
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
I replaced that ELNA DSK-3R3H224U-HL with a KEMET FC0V474ZFTBR24 from Mouser. This new cap is much bigger than the old one, but SMD, 3.5V, 0.47F.
The corners on the cap need to be cut and that plastic lid that sits over the board needs to be drilled.

IF you put the unit back together and you canít select anything on DMM and just has a strange behaviour with nothing on the display, the supercap is jammed and shorted out against a different part, guaranteed. Hence the not getting around the drilling part in my case.

Here is more FLUKE porn for your entertainment.
Did you get the meter to work correctly with the super capacitor or did you have to do something else
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2022, 08:25 PM   #52
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Mine worked fine as kind. However I did read about someone having —— (dashes) in the display. Sure enough if I short the cap out to the nearby SMD pieces and turn it on, I get dashes too in my display. So if someone does get the dashes, recheck the work.

All I did was cut the plastic on the negative side of the supercap to make it fit, take out old supercap, put in new supercap, marked the spot on the cover plastic, drilled a 1/2” hole and screwed the thing back together. Then I verified that all works. The second Fluke 289 got modded exactly the same way and also have success to report. Now we have to wait a few years to see how these new larger supercaps make out over time.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2022, 03:19 AM   #53
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 27,424
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

the kemet is rated for 1000hours at 70'
thats why supercaps are shit!
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2022, 04:03 AM   #54
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

There should be something like a battery holder for supercaps, so one can change them as needed. Lol
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2022, 10:26 AM   #55
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 27,424
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

i should start a business selling keyfob flashlights globally - you choose the battery inside it!!!!
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2022, 10:35 AM   #56
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
There should be something like a battery holder for supercaps, so one can change them as needed. Lol
I personally wish that they would do this as well
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 02:56 PM   #57
rporonga
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Sunnyvale, CA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

I just got my Fluke 289 come back from warranty service. I initially had the supercapacitor replaced under warranty 5 years ago, and it recently failed again. This time around, they replaced the PCA.
Is there a way to check the board version without disassembling it?
rporonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 11:35 AM   #58
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Fluke 289 bad supercapacitor replacement repair

I don’t think so. Unless there is a very big change. That’s why there are 2 different firmwares. One for the old version and another one for the new version.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?