Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2022, 02:00 PM   #1
spleenharvester
Badcaps Veteran
 
spleenharvester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 723
Default Pinout of TV antenna cable

Trying to bring the antenna cable down from my roof to my living room, it's currently not wired to anything. But instead of a coax cable, I found two of these 4-core monstrosities. I'm guessing the two light green wires are common to eachother, as are the two dark green wires - and each 'pair' is either signal or shield. Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20220930_192119.jpg (272.3 KB, 53 views)
__________________
Dell E7450 | i5-5300U | 16GB DDR3 | 256GB SSD
spleenharvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 02:33 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 27,424
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

thats strange - was any coax with it?
old sattelite dishes had extra control cables.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 02:40 PM   #3
spleenharvester
Badcaps Veteran
 
spleenharvester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 723
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
thats strange - was any coax with it?
old sattelite dishes had extra control cables.
The house has coax cables hanging out of the ceiling in various rooms (we just bought it) so they were clearly connected to the antenna somehow at some point, but they're not connected to anything now. So I'm not sure quite how they worked with it.
spleenharvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 03:05 PM   #4
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,419
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

control cable ..maybe for a rotator .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 04:18 PM   #5
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

They might be balanced pairs, like 300Ω twin-lead but I'm not sure what the UK used for antenna feed-ins. One pair for one antenna i.e. VHF, the other for UHF.
There should be a balun or two on the roof.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 05:22 PM   #6
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

.

Last edited by CapLeaker; 09-30-2022 at 05:29 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 05:28 PM   #7
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
They might be balanced pairs, like 300Ω twin-lead but I'm not sure what the UK used for antenna feed-ins. One pair for one antenna i.e. VHF, the other for UHF.
There should be a balun or two on the roof.
The spacing isnít right for 300 ohm twin lead. It almost looks more like a control cable for an old c-band dish to me. Or maybe an lnb with skew control? Or a 4 wire thermostat? Dunno.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 09:15 PM   #8
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

It's got the the fat insulation on the conductors, solid wire- I've seen on some outdoor 300Ω cables.
Did they even use rotators in the UK? I've never seen it here for TV, only ham use. Satellite could use that cable for DC power but the signal still needs to come into the house somehow.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 09:35 PM   #9
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,460
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

I was thinking rotator wire too, and indeed they do make rotators for broadcast... so much that I thought hams decided to repurpose broadcast rotators for amateur use...
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2022, 03:38 AM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 27,424
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

the u.k. never used pairs for RF, always been coax.
a sattelite jack is unlikely, those use a screened feedback if done right.
a polariser is possible.
or could it have been power for a masthead amplifier??
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2022, 08:43 PM   #11
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

Antenna rotators I worked with had a reversible AC motor, brake solenoid, and potentiometer for position feedback. So a few conductors required 3-5 flat 20awg outdoor ribbon cable was commonplace.
Masthead amp power is usually bias-T fed in the coax or two conductor DC power.
You wouldn't use solid copper because of the flex in the wind. It looks thick as if for a higher current load.
OP has got some martian cable.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 04:51 AM   #12
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,983
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

so what and where exactly was the other end of the cable connected to? i dont understand. it wasnt very clear in the first post and subsequent posts. so if both ends werent "wired to anything" like u said then the cable was just lying around or hanging around somewhere in the house. so where exactly in the house was it when u found it? and if the other end was connected to something, try to trace where the cable goes to then. it might offer some clue as to what it was for.

i just need to ask more questions about this and know more things about this light and dark green cabling before we really declare it "alien cabling" or "green martian cabling". or worse, get power and data/signal cables mixed up. mixing up power and signal cables is the fastest way to release the magic smoke from ic chips and stopping them from working anymore.
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 05:42 AM   #13
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,419
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

looks like pairs of green and yellows to me .. not 2 shades of green
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 01:59 PM   #14
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

Maybe it's old BT Telephone Cable. What does rural telephone cable look like in the UK? I could find modern cable as a "single quad" but it's thin copper.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 02:45 PM   #15
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 27,424
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

not telephone,
wrong colours and phone cable uses 2 thin twisted pairs

one thing i noticed in that picture is the thick teflon looking insulation!
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 05:09 PM   #16
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,318
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
not telephone,
wrong colours and phone cable uses 2 thin twisted pairs

one thing i noticed in that picture is the thick teflon looking insulation!
me too. Also why are there 2 identical wire pairs? It's not really twisted to be suited for phone. But then it doesn't matter if only one pair is used, because nothing is on the other pair to cross talk into.
I rather think it was a low voltage supply of some sort or a control cable. Small rotators don't have a brake. So a 4 wire cable would be a perfect fit.
The balanced twin lead idea is not right for me as the spacing is way too narrow to be 300 Ohm. What gives?
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 08:08 PM   #17
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

When I worked at an electronics distibutor, there was always odds and ends of the wrong cable someone had ordered, sitting in reels collecting dust.
There was cheapo customers that didn't care- "4 conductor" is all they wanted and we'd sell it cheap to get rid of it.

OP might just have some oddball cable that was cheap. Look for any writing on the jacket, it should have something there.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2022, 10:19 AM   #18
spleenharvester
Badcaps Veteran
 
spleenharvester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 723
Default Re: Pinout of TV antenna cable

Cheers everyone - still no idea what it is but I eventually found the right cable in the loft!
spleenharvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?