Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2015, 07:31 PM   #1
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

For my Zotac GeForce 9300 mainboard, I need a PSU with an 8-pin motherboard connector. This PSU is hard to find and expensive. An adapter is available to combine with a 4-pin mobo connector to make it an 8-pin. Does anyone have experience with these $5 adapters, or would it be better to buy a PSU with the 8-pin mobo connector?

Last edited by binsonk; 09-02-2015 at 08:07 PM..
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 07:37 PM   #2
Compgeke
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Fairfield, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V AC 60 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 503
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

For the most part you can just plug the 4-pin into the 8 and it'll work fine, just don't expect overclocking and such to be stable. I've never known a board that won't work using a 4 in the 8.
Compgeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 08:03 PM   #3
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

The 4-pin mobo connector only fits in slots 5 to 8. Is that normal? IIRC, the 4-pin PSU did not work, but an 8-pin PSU did work. Unfortunately, I only borrowed the 8-pin PSU, and lost the opportunity to buy it.

I just powered it up with the 4-pin in slots 5 to 8. I got a display but the fan did not work. The CPU fan gets power from a connection on the mobo.

Last edited by binsonk; 09-02-2015 at 08:14 PM..
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 08:18 PM   #4
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

I had an Intel D975XBX2 which would refuse to POST if you used a 4-pin CPU connector. The majority of motherboards, though, will work fine with only 4 pins connected.

The thing is, though, virtually all new PSUs have an 8 pin EPS12V CPU connector, so I don't know what you meant by hard to find and expensive.
see http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151148. Dirt cheap, reasonable quality and it has the connector.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro

Last edited by c_hegge; 09-02-2015 at 08:20 PM..
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 08:24 PM   #5
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Thanks for the link, c_hegge. It's sort of the point of this query to find out about the even cheaper adapter.
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 08:26 PM   #6
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

It would probably work too, but I prefer to avoid using adapters where possible in favour of a PSU which has all of the required connectors
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 08:30 PM   #7
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,473
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by binsonk View Post
For my Zotac GeForce 9300 mainboard, I need a PSU with an 8-pin motherboard connector. This PSU is hard to find and expensive. An adapter is available to combine with a 4-pin mobo connector to make it an 8-pin. Does anyone have experience with these $5 adapters, or would it be better to buy a PSU with the 8-pin mobo connector?
Get a used unit with an 8 pin. They used it for a reason, and that is current draw. Otherwise, especially with heavy use, you'll overload the adapter's connector and the 4 wires trying to carry the current of 8.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 09:03 PM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,977
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

it's possible that the 12v pins on the gfx card are not all linked and some are directly driving different parts of the card.
that would be a poor design, but it sounds like what's happening.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 09:11 PM   #9
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Get a used unit with an 8 pin. They used it for a reason, and that is current draw. Otherwise, especially with heavy use, you'll overload the adapter's connector and the 4 wires trying to carry the current of 8.
Depends on the CPU. Something such as an E6600 does not need an 8-pin connector to power it, regardless of what motherboard it's installed in. With an OC'd 125W CPU, though (Core 2 Extreme for instance), then yes, you would want to use an 8-pin connector.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 09:37 PM   #10
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Oh my, I wasn't satisfied with the cooler and fan on it, so I swapped in a stock Intel cooler, and now the CPU fan works with the 4-pin mobo connector in slots 5 to 8 (?). I think I can make a box now.

Last edited by binsonk; 09-02-2015 at 09:44 PM..
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 10:21 PM   #11
omendata
Member
 
omendata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: Glasgow, Scotland
My Country: United Kingdom
Line Voltage: 240v aC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

The 8 pin converter works fine just remember it is sucking more current from a single power line on the psu so dont overload your psu.
__________________
You are only too old when you say you are too old!!!
omendata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 10:37 PM   #12
Compgeke
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Fairfield, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V AC 60 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 503
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by binsonk View Post
4-pin mobo connector in slots 5 to 8 (?).
Not sure which pins it is off the top of my head but it'll only fit in one position, won't fit aligned over the others.
Compgeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 11:37 PM   #13
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

I got a new toy. I don't have many units with specs this good.

Zotac mainboard
2.6 GHz Dual Core
nVidia display
1 GB DDR2 / 800 MHz FSB , 128 MB onboard video (VGA)
VGA & Digital Video, onboard connectors
HDMI onboard
4 SATA drive slots

I'm running a liveCD of Linux. Look Ma, no hard drive!

Last edited by binsonk; 09-02-2015 at 11:39 PM..
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 12:27 AM   #14
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,977
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

you should double the ram - other than hat the specs look good.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 08:49 AM   #15
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
you should double the ram - other than hat the specs look good.
If I spend any money on this unit, first priority will be the correct PSU with 8-pin mobo connector. I don't know many distros of Linux that would falter with 1 gig of DDR2.
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 09:28 AM   #16
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

What about these two designs?

1 http://www.ebay.com/itm/6-Server-Mot.../121731664839?

2 http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Pin-Molex-.../321229806421?
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 11:18 AM   #17
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
you should double the ram - other than hat the specs look good.
At least, better put 4Gig in there...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 12:22 PM   #18
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,977
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

Linux isnt so greedy with ram
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 02:24 PM   #19
binsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
City & State: Charlotte, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 182
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

I dropped by the local computer repair shop to look for a 4-to-8 pin adapter. The man said of the 8-pin mobo connector that the other/extra 4 pins are to power a graphics card, implying that the motherboard is adequately powered by the 4-pin connector.

Last edited by binsonk; 09-03-2015 at 02:25 PM..
binsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2015, 02:43 PM   #20
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Zotac mainboard needs PSU with 8-pin mobo connector

oh dear...
I'm out of words for that...

And no, it is not. It is for the CPU, most likely not GPU...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?