Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2015, 03:40 PM   #1
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,368
Smile Reballing Toshiba L500D

Another one done today, first time getting help from the camera i just installed on the BGA station at work. I must say it helps a lot. A clean job with no issues.

I have also replaced the thermal pad with an aluminum shim before putting the laptop back together.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20150917_160012.jpg (1,002.4 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150917_162157.jpg (658.5 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150917_162649.jpg (627.5 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150917_175351.jpg (506.1 KB, 43 views)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 05:12 PM   #2
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,188
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

Fantastic work!

How much do those L500Ds go for in Romania? I had an opportunity to buy a Toshiba Core2 that would most likely need nothing more than a Nec-Tokin replacement for $30. I wonder how much I could flip it for.
__________________
...Their plight, in fact is even worse, they don't realize that they're cantonists, they think they're free men. What a slavery that is - to confuse slavery for light, and bitter darkness for bright light.
-Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneersohn
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 08:38 PM   #3
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

^
We just sold one for $200 (AUD) at work recently, although we upgraded it to windows 7 (with a proper COA and the like).

If you sell it running Vista? Zip. You can't even give a vista or XP machine away here. Funnily enough, I've never actually had a Tokin cap failure on an L300 before. We sold quite a few back in the day, and they have been a very reliable laptop.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro

Last edited by c_hegge; 09-17-2015 at 08:45 PM..
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 09:57 PM   #4
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,188
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_hegge View Post
^
We just sold one for $200 (AUD) at work recently, although we upgraded it to windows 7 (with a proper COA and the like).

If you sell it running Vista? Zip. You can't even give a vista or XP machine away here. Funnily enough, I've never actually had a Tokin cap failure on an L300 before. We sold quite a few back in the day, and they have been a very reliable laptop.
Very nice. 7 aint a problem at all. It's just a matter of flashing an SLIC BIOS.

I imagine upgrading the CPU to something more powerful like a T8100 and 4GB of RAM might make it even more attractive.
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 10:27 PM   #5
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

Nah, that was with the stock BIOS and a Pentium T4200 CPU. You don't need to update the BIOS to run 7 at all.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 11:22 PM   #6
ktmmotocross
Boardkiller
 
ktmmotocross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: slovakia
My Country: slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
Another one done today, first time getting help from the camera i just installed on the BGA station at work. I must say it helps a lot. A clean job with no issues.

I have also replaced the thermal pad with an aluminum shim before putting the laptop back together.

is that foil around really needed? i never using it and never have a problrm
ktmmotocross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 12:50 AM   #7
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,368
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

^^ It's not absolutely required but it is possible to melt plastic connectors or incompletely reflow other parts in the vicinity of the chip you are working on. The rework station that i am using now has a 60x60mm top heater so i play it safe and cover stuff up.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 06:05 AM   #8
gcomputers
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: Shkoder
My Country: Albania
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 438
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
Another one done today, first time getting help from the camera i just installed on the BGA station at work. I must say it helps a lot. A clean job with no issues.

I have also replaced the thermal pad with an aluminum shim before putting the laptop back together.
Good job.
What ccd camera you bought , i bought this cam but come to me without lens and have problem .
Can you suggest me any link or model?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg optix.jpg (342.6 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg optixa.jpg (336.1 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg otixcam.jpg (381.0 KB, 14 views)
gcomputers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 03:42 PM   #9
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,368
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

I bought the cheapest crappiest webcam with LED light and manual focus, it is actually good enough for the job. Added the 2 missing LEDs (it was supposed to have 3, but it only had 1 inside) and it's all i need.

I have also devised a high-tech mounting system comprised of packaging foam and double adhesive tape.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 03:52 PM   #10
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,188
Default Re: Reballing Toshiba L500D

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_hegge View Post
Nah, that was with the stock BIOS and a Pentium T4200 CPU. You don't need to update the BIOS to run 7 at all.
The SLIC lets you activate Windows without a COA. If the laptop has a Vista sticker, then the laptop shipped with an SLIC 2.0 BIOS. So if you want to go to 7, you update it to an SLIC 2.1 BIOS (Which is usually modified by a 3rd party - though the big manufacturers are known to sometimes release BIOS updates for Vista models that have an updated SLIC 2.1 table).
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?