Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2020, 02:57 PM   #1
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,076
Default Remote garage door opener - not working

I have two of these and used the working one to do a comparison measurement. Oddly everything seems to be identical in value when measured. I even did a diode mode measurement (+ probe on - battery terminal) of all components and the ic. The values are the same between the two.

Only difference I’ve noticed is as follows:

Working one:
12v on C of NPN transistor
Press button
0v on both B and E

Bad one:
12v on C of NPN
Press button
1.5v on B
1.1v on C

But the transistor measures good and has same values of working one

Any idea on this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F1F174FA-62AD-497C-911C-5417701D9306.jpg (275.3 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 031B5D45-9EAA-4EE8-B1AC-08926B316C78.jpg (205.5 KB, 22 views)
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 03:38 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,043
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

What are the Voltage B and E of that RF output Transistor of both units when button is no pressed?
When button is pressed, the Transistor will be fed with high RF frequency so the meter cannot handle to show the readings. We are dealing with high frequency here, so the bad one the IC may not be putting out high frequency drive but just steady state output.
What did you use for circuit ground?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 11-09-2020 at 03:43 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 03:41 PM   #3
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,256
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

I'm not sure you can measure the voltage on that transistor, it's part of the RF electronics. In any case the readings you gave are suspect, especially when you gave "C" twice on the bad one. Please remeasure and also note when you measure voltage, what is your reference point...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 03:50 PM   #4
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,892
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

It's hard to tell because the TX transistor operates at VHF and a DMM and long test leads may or may not kill the oscillator at the 315MHz or 433MHz it runs at.
You need an RF probe or SDR or something to see if it's transmitting anything.

What I do is trim the transmitter frequency. There is an adjustment - usually a trimmer capacitor but here it's a slug inside the white tube on the inductor.
Put most of it back together and when far away I adjust for the best range.

This is using Microchip Keeloq like HCS30x series with rolling code. So the remote will need to be "learned" by the garage door opener before anything can happen.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 04:08 PM   #5
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,329
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

This is a rant

I am sick of manufacturers pulling data sheets off line what is this crap!!!
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 04:12 PM   #6
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,329
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
What I do is trim the transmitter frequency. There is an adjustment - usually a trimmer capacitor but here it's a slug inside the white tube on the inductor.
Put most of it back together and when far away I adjust for the best range.
This works sometimes ———>

I would also recommend that you use plastic tools to this type of adjustment
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 05:32 PM   #7
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,561
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Is this any help?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 21143C.pdf (712.2 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by R_J; 11-09-2020 at 05:33 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 05:37 PM   #8
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
What are the Voltage B and E of that RF output Transistor of both units when button is no pressed?
When button is pressed, the Transistor will be fed with high RF frequency so the meter cannot handle to show the readings. We are dealing with high frequency here, so the bad one the IC may not be putting out high frequency drive but just steady state output.
What did you use for circuit ground?
Both measure 0v when not pressed.

Used battery ground termal when making measurements
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 06:00 PM   #9
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,518
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

point at a digital camera to see if you see flashes .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 06:06 PM   #10
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,561
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
point at a digital camera to see if you see flashes .
This is an R.F device not I.R.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 06:23 PM   #11
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,518
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
This is an R.F device not I.R.
there is a frequency counter device for that job then . seen them used for car key programming to car .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 06:45 PM   #12
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Noticed a mistake in my original post. Can’t edit it so I’ll post here:

Working one:
12v on C of NPN transistor
Press button
0v on both B and E

Bad one:
12v on C of NPN
Press button
1.5v on B
1.1v on E (originally wrote C by mistake)
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 10:33 PM   #13
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,892
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Maybe measure the voltage drop across the 300R resistor going to MCU power on pin 8. 12V on one side and MCU power on the other. Or measure the current drain on 12V power in.
The MPS918 is pretty tough and not likely to fail, although I'm not sure what happens when a battery is put in backwards on one of these.

On the working one, the transistor reading zero on B, E is not right- it's just off then and doing nothing. The MCU makes 66 bits at 0.1 to 0.4msec/bit pulses when the button is pushed. So a slow multimeter will not catch that.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 05:58 AM   #14
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

The way I was able to get readings was to hold the button down. If just pressed normally it was too fast to see anything.

I’m curious what the white tube wrapped in thick wire is. Is that was transmits the signal?

What component is most likely to fail on this? I’m not familiar with the operation of one of these
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 07:51 AM   #15
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,518
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

all i have seen wrong with similar ones is dead batteries failed switches and bad solder joints . and corrosion .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 10:50 AM   #16
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,561
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

The white tube with the wire is the coil along with one of the small capacitors that sets the r.f. frequency. I use sdr spectrum analyser software and a cheap usb receiver (RTL2832) to check these now. You could swap the ic or transistor between the two units.

Last edited by R_J; 11-10-2020 at 10:57 AM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 01:18 PM   #17
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,256
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Something still doesn't make sense, i'd expect the voltages on the "working" one to have different voltages on B and E, and neither 0V - unless you can't see it.

Pin 7 appears to be an LED output on the IC that's not connected/used, you should connect an LED there and see if that at least blinks - seems simple enough, connect anode of LED to pin 8 of the IC and cathode to pin 7.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 02:26 PM   #18
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,043
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

It is too high of the frequency for the meter to see the drive Voltage to the Transistor, and probe leads also affect the circuit as well.
He can try using AM radio, it will pick up harmonic of the transmitter, set to the lowest frequency and unused, you should hear pulses when you activate the button, I just verify that with my AM radio (I had to extend the antenna and put the transmitter right next to it) and my garage door opener. I use AM radio a lot as noise detector.

Last edited by budm; 11-10-2020 at 02:39 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 04:16 PM   #19
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
It is too high of the frequency for the meter to see the drive Voltage to the Transistor, and probe leads also affect the circuit as well.
He can try using AM radio, it will pick up harmonic of the transmitter, set to the lowest frequency and unused, you should hear pulses when you activate the button, I just verify that with my AM radio (I had to extend the antenna and put the transmitter right next to it) and my garage door opener. I use AM radio a lot as noise detector.
Just tried on stations 520-540 and couldn’t hear anything from either one (working and bad)
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 05:09 PM   #20
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,638
Default Re: Remote garage door opener - not working

just swap that rf device out and see if the problem goes with it. Also the transmitter and the receiver need to be paired.

Last edited by CapLeaker; 11-10-2020 at 05:13 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?