Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2020, 09:35 PM   #41
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,690
Default Re: Insignia NS-48D510NA15 no backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
I use the strip for under counter lights.
Good call. It'd be a snap to build a basic power supply and shazam!
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2020, 09:38 PM   #42
neilc6
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 994
Default Re: Insignia NS-48D510NA15 no backlight

If you want to isolate the failed LED, you can use a multimeter in diode test mode. If there are no test points, scrape the soldermask beside each LED.
neilc6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 07:01 PM   #43
davery
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Beavercreek
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Insignia NS-48D510NA15 no backlight

Newbie here. I also have the Insignia NS-48D510NA15 with no backlight. I was able to take it apart and used two 9V batteries in succession to test each strip. One strip appears to be bad, as I could not get it to light up. Should I assume when one strip is bad, none will light up? If so, should I replace the one bad strip or all of them? Thanks for any help. As I said, I am a newbie with TV's, so any help would be appreciated.
davery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 08:09 PM   #44
neilc6
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 994
Default Re: Insignia NS-48D510NA15 no backlight

All the LEDs have wear and the ones still working are likely to fail. If you don't want a repeat failure, replace all of them with new and turn down the backlight level.
neilc6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 08:55 PM   #45
davery
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
City & State: Beavercreek
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Insignia NS-48D510NA15 no backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilc6 View Post
All the LEDs have wear and the ones still working are likely to fail. If you don't want a repeat failure, replace all of them with new and turn down the backlight level.
Thanks for the reply. Where is the best place to buy the LED's? How do you turn down the backlight level? Thanks for your help.
davery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 09:34 PM   #46
neilc6
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 994
Default Re: Insignia NS-48D510NA15 no backlight

Ordered these recently. They were a little bit thinner than the original strips so just taped them down with shipping tape. You can turn down the backlight in the picture settings menu. I would also turn off the ambient light sensor.

https://ebay.us/9AkX9X
neilc6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:08 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?