Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Compaq Presario CQ71-411EG wont turn on

Hello guys,

Im new here on forum but also in all this, a total newbie, so please have some mercy

The laptop Im trying to repair is:

Model: Compaq Presario CQ71-411EG
    Product: VX896EA#ABD

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 / 2.2 GHz
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce G103M - 512 MB
    Motherboard:
    • DA00P6MB6D0
    • PCB 0P6 MB
    • REV D

The problem Im having is that the laptop wont turn on at all. When I connect the power adapter the LED of the power jack turns on for about 5 - 10 seconds and goes off, thats all I get, no other sign of life.

I did some research on the forum and found a pretty similar case with the same symptoms Presario CQ61 Dead- Not Booting - by nogger

I decided to make a new thread because its not about the same laptop (but same motherboard) and not the same BIOS, i guess.

Now back to my problem,
    This is what I have checked so far:
    1. Measured the voltage going into the motherboard and I got close to 19 volts so I assume the power jack is alright.
    2. I checked the power button with my multi-meter for continuity and well I got the beeping so I would assume its not the power button either. Best would be to test it with a new power button, i know. However, I somehow doubt that the power button is the problem.
    3. Now that I know its not the power button (most probably) nor the power jack I tested the voltage in other chips. I didnt know which exactly to test because I dont have the diagram but even with it I dont think I would be able to read it correctly. However, I tested almost all of them and in some I had 18+v volts, in some 5+ volts, some with 3+ volts. Those close to the power jack and battery seemed to be fine, so I guess the power is fine.