Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2021, 09:41 AM   #121
BishopCaps
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
City & State: Telford
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Getting an error using;
---------------------------
cx_Freeze: Python error in main script
---------------------------
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\kaurv\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Pyth on37-32\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\__startup__.py", line 104, in run
File "C:\Users\kaurv\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Pyth on37-32\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py", line 15, in run
File "RCUnlocker.py", line 328, in <module>
File "RCUnlocker.py", line 209, in displayInfoUserCred
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf-8' codec can't decode byte 0x8b in position 0: invalid start byte

---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
BishopCaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 11:13 AM   #122
Aaronrepair
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
City & State: Leeds
My Country: Uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: RCUnlocker

@maxitaxi upload 32mb locked dump here.

Indeed you need to unlock 16mb with RCunlocker, it doesnt support the 32mb chip.
Aaronrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 10:47 PM   #123
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,366
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Do what it says. Read the 16MB chip and use that instead of 32MB chip...
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 02:10 PM   #124
BishopCaps
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
City & State: Telford
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
Do what it says. Read the 16MB chip and use that instead of 32MB chip...

See my error above ? any input?
BishopCaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 01:52 AM   #125
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,366
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Ignored that, no file uploaded to test with

Check if you got the unlocked file anyway because that error happens after patching.

Last edited by RethoricalCheese; 10-24-2021 at 01:54 AM..
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 03:17 AM   #126
BishopCaps
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
City & State: Telford
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Oh sorry RethoricalCheese - It did output a file, just the python error seemed like it was looking for files that werent there so didn't want to program and have to desolder.
BishopCaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 12:54 PM   #127
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,366
Default Re: RCUnlocker

That error is about displayinfo. Displays serial number, mac, me version, OA3 and such. Not important for unlocking. Compare unlocked with original just to be sure. There should be a difference near UserCred.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2021, 10:08 AM   #128
Guitar
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
City & State: Vienna
My Country: Austria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hello, did anyone tried to unlock HP 650 G8 i5 1135g7? I have a chance to buy one, but it is locked in BIOS... Than you!
Guitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2021, 03:24 AM   #129
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,366
Default Re: RCUnlocker

It will probably be unlockable but who knows how. Can't find out without testing. So when you do buy it, read both main and EC bios and upload them, we'll take a look.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2021, 05:05 AM   #130
Guitar
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
City & State: Vienna
My Country: Austria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Thanks for your fast reply, let's see if I make a deal.
Great support from you!
Guitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 10:23 AM   #131
biosdumper1
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
City & State: united kingdom
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
This is a multitool and unlocker for several series of laptops. Works on Windows. No python etc installing needed, all included in package. Everything is tested by myself but since every laptop is not made equally, there might be edge cases. Always VERIFY your file after reading!!!

Unlocking
HP - ProBook, EliteBook, ZBook (including 32MB models)
Chromebooks from all various manufacturers
Apple - everything older than T2
More to come...

Information display (helps to verify file integrity)
HP - ProBook, EliteBook, ZBook (up to 16MB models for now)

Custom logo removal
HP - ProBook, EliteBook, ZBook (up to 16MB models for now)

Usage: Drag and drop .bin file to .exe file.

In case there are problems with unlocking your laptop, write a short description of the issue, upload original file and if possible, _unlocked.bin file aswell. Just crying for help is useless. Keep the topic as clean as possible.

You may ask for feature requests, I'll see what I can do.

-- hello there, the BIOS can be updated by holding down the windows key + B when powering on the laptop... is there no way to take a bios dump without removing the chip.... then using RC unlocker tool to remove the bios passwords... then using the bios update tool to reflash the .bin file to remove the password? just a suggestion of course i knoew nothing in this area of expertise but wanted to know if it was possible or not many thanks kind regards!
biosdumper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 11:53 PM   #132
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,366
Default Re: RCUnlocker

No, I deliberately make you work harder because that method would be too easy
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 05:10 PM   #133
erzhan89
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
City & State: DorfenDorf
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Hello, everyone.
I am looking for a bios dump from Probook 445R G6.
erzhan89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 12:04 PM   #134
bhatt
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Rawalpindi
My Country: pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: RCUnlocker

I download this software but its not working, how its work anyone reply me
bhatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 12:07 PM   #135
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11,842
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by erzhan89 View Post
Hello, everyone.
I am looking for a bios dump from Probook 445R G6.
Off-topic ,start your own thread and post your backup.
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 12:10 PM   #136
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11,842
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhatt View Post
I download this software but its not working, how its work anyone reply me
Did you read post #1

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...15&postcount=1

Quote:

Usage: Drag and drop .bin file to .exe file.
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 12:11 PM   #137
bhatt
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Rawalpindi
My Country: pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 50
Default Re: RCUnlocker

hi bro
how this tool is working 840g5 bios password remove ( RCUnlocker_v_1_0) reply me bro
bhatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 08:31 AM   #138
onelook
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghamidi View Post
Hi Mr RethoricalCheese
the software is compatible with HP Elitebook 830 G6

Thank you
Which files did you unlock with the software? Also both 32mb and 16mb bin files or just the 16mb bin file?

Thanks
onelook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 10:48 AM   #139
onelook
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by onelook View Post
Which files did you unlock with the software? Also both 32mb and 16mb bin files or just the 16mb bin file?

Thanks
Ok just read the thread and find out that i need to unlock the 16mb file. But how do i know if i need to unlock the 32mb too?

Here are my dumped files

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip MIXC_MX25L128.zip (7.77 MB, 49 views)
File Type: zip Winbond_256.zip (12.83 MB, 48 views)
onelook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 02:38 PM   #140
onelook
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 27
Default Re: RCUnlocker

Quote:
Originally Posted by onelook View Post
Ok just read the thread and find out that i need to unlock the 16mb file. But how do i know if i need to unlock the 32mb too?

Here are my dumped files

Thanks
Never mind. Just got it unlock.

Thanks
onelook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?