Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2020, 11:51 AM   #1
GulagMaster
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: Maple Grove, Minnesota
My Country: United State
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

I'm trying to read a 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1 and the software wont even detect it. I'm wondering if I need an adapter of some kind to make it work.

I tried with windows using the Ch341a included software, wont detect and wont read
I also tried with flashrom on linux, flashrom and I get this :
Quote:
sudo flashrom --programmer ch341a_spi -r hp840.bin
flashrom v0.9.9-rc1-r1942 on Linux 4.15.0-88-generic (x86_64)
flashrom is free software, get the source code at https://flashrom.org

Calibrating delay loop... OK.
No EEPROM/flash device found.
Note: flashrom can never write if the flash chip isn't found automatically.
I found the data sheet for the chip : https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...VxtJhOxoNvJL5q

Please help, I need to remove the bios admin password.

Last edited by GulagMaster; 02-28-2020 at 11:52 AM..
GulagMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:28 PM   #2
Stevedb
Stevedb
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Schendelbeke/ East-Flanders
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 240v ac
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 121
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

Hi

Which version do you use of software ch341 A programmer i got the 1.38 which support all. But it is on windows.

Regards Steve
Stevedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:39 PM   #3
GulagMaster
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: Maple Grove, Minnesota
My Country: United State
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

I use 1.31 on windows... I guess I will have to dig up that 1.38 version
GulagMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:44 PM   #4
Stevedb
Stevedb
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Schendelbeke/ East-Flanders
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 240v ac
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 121
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

https://www.mdclab.it/lab-usb-programmer-ch341a.html
Stevedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 12:53 PM   #5
Stevedb
Stevedb
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Schendelbeke/ East-Flanders
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 240v ac
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 121
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

You can also try this says Vesko356
Attached Files
File Type: zip AsProgrammer_1.4.1.zip (12.21 MB, 13 views)
Stevedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 01:44 PM   #6
Stevedb
Stevedb
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Schendelbeke/ East-Flanders
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 240v ac
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 121
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

Does it work for reading bios chip
Stevedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 01:48 PM   #7
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,181
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

Is the chip you are trying to read still mounted on the board, if it is, when you connect to it you are also trying to power anything else connected to the 3.3/5v line. IE: microprocessor, memory ic's etc.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2020, 02:35 PM   #8
brew99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
City & State: BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 132
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

that's a 1.8V chip, so are you using a 1.8V adapter with the 341A?
brew99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 07:45 AM   #9
GulagMaster
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: Maple Grove, Minnesota
My Country: United State
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevedb View Post
Does it work for reading bios chip
With the new software (asprogrammer) it does, but I can't write it. it hang a few second clicking the write button

Quote:
Is the chip you are trying to read still mounted on the board, if it is, when you connect to it you are also trying to power anything else connected to the 3.3/5v line. IE: microprocessor, memory ic's etc.
yes it is still soldered to the board. I am simply using a test clip. using a multimetre the chip gets 3.3v on pin 8.

Quote:
that's a 1.8V chip, so are you using a 1.8V adapter with the 341A?
no I dont. but i did order one a few week ago... still waiting on it, hoping it wont come with a free corona virus sample.
GulagMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 08:09 AM   #10
Vesko356
Sharpshooter
 
Vesko356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Sofia
My Country: Bulgaria
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 243
Default Re: Can't read 25Q128A SPI chip from a HP 840 G1

There is a new version of AsProgrammer and it's working more stable with ch341a.
Attached Files
File Type: zip AsProgrammer_2.0.0a14.zip (12.05 MB, 146 views)
__________________
Doctrina est fructus dulcis, radicis amarae.

Last edited by Vesko356; 03-02-2020 at 09:06 AM..
Vesko356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?