Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I need help identifying the issue with my Magnavox MDR513H dvd recorder!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need help identifying the issue with my Magnavox MDR513H dvd recorder!

Hello! I am fairly new at repairing electronics. Recently I came across an old Magnavox MDR513H dvd/hdd recorder. It is not powering on. When the unit is plugged in, I get this really annoying beeping sound coming from the power supply.. I have already tried things like unplugging the unit for a few hours, holding the power button for a minute or 2. Nothing seems to make It work.

I found this guy with the same problem on YouTube -https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFVm-SJX-S8
    -
    I checked all over this video's comments but no one really helps him with the issue. except for one comment that seemed legit. (screenshot of the comment is attached.)

if the guy in the comment is correct. I have no idea on how to test this zenner diode to see if mine is indeed bad.

I would appreciate if somebody helped me on how to test it. or maybe somebody knows where I can get a replacement for me to see if this is the issue. I have no idea on the zenner diode specs or how to look it up.

zenner diode markings are 1N4755A A20
    Attached Files
    Last edited by SMDFlea; 12-01-2021, 04:44 AM. Reason: MDR513H

Re: I need help identifying the issue with my Magnavox MDR513H dvd recorder!

1n4755a - 43v 1w
    Attached Files

Comment

if it isnt shorted or open its likely ok .. only way of testing is with a power supply and resistor and voltmeter .. could of course simply test in circuit .

Comment

If that is D2229 it is a 1N4755A zener diode (43v 1watt) on the EV+33v supply. If it is not shorted it is likely ok. Check it with your meter.