Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2022, 11:28 AM   #1
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,689
Default Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Hi folks i want to buy a Ota off the air Tv box to replace Apex Dt 250a cheap box but i want to get a simple no recording just better tuner , of these which you suggest/ thanks.

https://www.amazon.com/Best-Sellers-...nics/979935011
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 10:40 PM   #2
keeney123
Lauren
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: North Adams MA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivtec View Post
Hi folks i want to buy a Ota off the air Tv box to replace Apex Dt 250a cheap box but i want to get a simple no recording just better tuner , of these which you suggest/ thanks.

https://www.amazon.com/Best-Sellers-...nics/979935011
Perhaps it would be helpful to explain what type of antenna you are using and what is happening with the present cheap box that is wanting you to have a better one.? Also, it would help to know what connection you are using on the TV. Do you have a av cable connection or just a F connector?

Last edited by keeney123; 05-13-2022 at 11:09 PM..
keeney123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 02:01 AM   #3
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keeney123 View Post
Perhaps it would be helpful to explain what type of antenna you are using and what is happening with the present cheap box that is wanting you to have a better one.? Also, it would help to know what connection you are using on the TV. Do you have a av cable connection or just a F connector?
Thanks Keeney ;i have an antenna 30 feet high with amp and i get about 70 ota channels on my Samsung tv,i'm good there, i have the outdoor antenna connected to my Samsung tv and to my old ota apex 250a converter box same on 2 way splitter and some channels like create wont show on the apex converter box tuner and show on the Samsung tv tuner ,I use the Digital Apex Converter box with coaxial cable out to other tvs in the house.

Last edited by ivtec; 05-14-2022 at 02:04 AM..
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 05:06 AM   #4
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,645
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Are you looking for something like this

https://www.ebay.com/itm/27531104677...sAAOSwgnZifuXN

Back in the day when they went digital tv the converter boxes were treble and if you live more than 15 miles from the tv tower your reception was poor at best with out an amplifier so this might be one issue
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 05-14-2022 at 05:10 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 10:14 AM   #5
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam_sam_sam View Post
Are you looking for something like this

https://www.ebay.com/itm/27531104677...sAAOSwgnZifuXN

Back in the day when they went digital tv the converter boxes were treble and if you live more than 15 miles from the tv tower your reception was poor at best with out an amplifier so this might be one issue
Thanks mate did you read my post above? ,i have an Apex 250A, i got it many years ago ,i think it is getting old and it's not performing very good.
i think i found one box that seems to have good reviews ,i think i'm going to try it.
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mediasoni...Used/854865392
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 04:43 PM   #6
keeney123
Lauren
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: North Adams MA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivtec View Post
Thanks Keeney ;i have an antenna 30 feet high with amp and i get about 70 ota channels on my Samsung tv,i'm good there, i have the outdoor antenna connected to my Samsung tv and to my old ota apex 250a converter box same on 2 way splitter and some channels like create wont show on the apex converter box tuner and show on the Samsung tv tuner ,I use the Digital Apex Converter box with coaxial cable out to other tvs in the house.
If you are using a uhf antenna and you are trying to get PBS and they are broadcast vhf you would not receive the station. Then there is omni-directional and directional antennas. The omni-directional could have problems picking up a VHF signal. To find out if its your antenna, and the PBS is a local station, you could try a set of rabbit ears and see if you get the change then through you convertor box. Also, check if you convertor box will process VHF signal?
keeney123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 05:14 PM   #7
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keeney123 View Post
If you are using a uhf antenna and you are trying to get PBS and they are broadcast vhf you would not receive the station. Then there is omni-directional and directional antennas. The omni-directional could have problems picking up a VHF signal. To find out if its your antenna, and the PBS is a local station, you could try a set of rabbit ears and see if you get the change then through you convertor box. Also, check if you convertor box will process VHF signal?
Thanks mate;i get most of these stations and Create Channel is a sub of PBS 3 Channels and all are UHF,i only get UHF cause my antenna is UHF, all channels in in VHF are also in UHF= https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...market&mktid=8
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 05:16 PM   #8
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

[QUOTE=ivtec;1133205]Thanks mate;i get most of these stations and Create Channel is a sub of PBS 3 Channels and all are UHF 42 miles from my location ,i only get UHF cause my antenna is UHF, all channels in VHF are also in UHF,

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...market&mktid=8
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 04:43 PM   #9
keeney123
Lauren
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: North Adams MA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

[QUOTE=ivtec;1133206]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivtec View Post
Thanks mate;i get most of these stations and Create Channel is a sub of PBS 3 Channels and all are UHF 42 miles from my location ,i only get UHF cause my antenna is UHF, all channels in VHF are also in UHF,

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...market&mktid=8
Here is a better understanding of UHF and VHF stations. Just look at the signal column. The frequency is different and require the length of a VHF antenna. A UHF antenna will not pick it up because the length of the antenna is shorter.

https://nocable.org/availability-rep...121-boston-ma/
keeney123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 06:23 PM   #10
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

https://nocable.org/availability-rep...121-boston-ma/

Hi mate.I'm getting all these and much more now; on all tvs in the other rooms And my problem before was solved by changing the way i had the set up,and the set up was
,the cable from the antenna was connected to a 2 way splitter 1 output would go to converter box short cable and the other short cable to a 4 way splitter and 1 output to 20 feet cable to a 2 way splitter to feed 2 tv ,another 15 feet cable to feed 3 way splitter to 3 tvs,
My change was i connected outdoor antenna with amp to just 3 way splitter and from there i
fed the other 20 feet cable and 15 feet cable to all other splitters and tvs ,also bought a new digital converter, now i have all the channels,at first when i searched for channels and they all showed on the line up but a lot had weak signal,but on my samsung with short cable i had all the channels. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mediasoni...2?athbdg=L1100

Last edited by ivtec; 05-21-2022 at 06:26 PM..
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 12:19 PM   #11
keeney123
Lauren
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: North Adams MA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Ota locals converter box suggestion.

Good to hear you got it going.
keeney123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?