ONN 100012588 Has fluctuating Voltage on PSU 12v

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ONN 100012588 Has fluctuating Voltage on PSU 12v

Hello all got another TV here im puzzled by. why cant they all be easy fixes that just need a little love and some tape???

anyway i go to this guys house to look at an ONN 100012588
    this is my first time looking at one of these brand of TV's.
    TBH i have low expectations because i see ONN as the cheap walmart brand that suddenly popped up selling the cheapest version of all kinds of tech things. and someone sent me a ONN flash drive with some data on it with some recordings they wanted me to check out and it immediately broke and corrupted the data and i was unable to do anything to salvage either the data or the drive as a usable device. so already i think this brand may be cutting corners!

anyway back to the story:
    i show up and sure enough the TV shows no signs of life.
    i really need to start taking better notes because i cant say for sure if it had a blinking red LED or not but at any rate the TV would not turn on.
    so i take the back off and test the backlights. there are 2 separate 2 wire connectors that go to the LED strips and i am able to get both of them to light up so i declare "its not the backlights!"
    moving on, i plug in the Power supply without the MB attatched to see if maybe it has one of those nice "self power on and backlight test" features that make things easy. nope it doesnt have that. nothing happens.
    so i test voltages and notice that the 12v is not a steady 12v, its swinging between 10.5 and 12v or so.
    i also see that there is a marking on the board for 5VSB but it has no voltage on it.
    So i say "Looks like a bad PSU!"
    i have never seen voltage fluctuating like this on a GOOD PSU!
    so the new PSU comes in, and i plug it in (but not to MB), and i notice that it ALSO has this fluctuating 12v and no 5VSB ... so now im thinking...wait. is this NORMAL?