Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2021, 08:34 PM   #1
triplefour
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Hilo, HI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,180
Default Vizio m557-g0 no response

yes im still fixing tvs...just not asking for help too often. but i got a puzzler here. tv has no response when plugged in. no standby light, no response to button presses. so i open up to check voltages, and of course thinking i will try to force the PSU on and that will tell me if PSU and BL are ok and most likely that MB is bad. but this tv does not have 5vsb, only 18vsb, so how do i know what kind of voltage to send to PSON and BLON to trick the PSU into turning on without MB? if they still should get 5v, where do i pull that from?

thanks in advance!
__________________
Don't fear the repair...
triplefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2021, 03:20 AM   #2
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,526
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

You could use an external power supply set to 3.5 - 4.5V or use two/ three 1.5V batteries connected in series. I would also use a 1K resistor in series with the supply so nothing is damaged if you connect it to the wrong pins.
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Last edited by dick_barton; 10-16-2021 at 03:29 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2021, 12:04 PM   #3
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,846
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

some new tv's don't have a separate 5v stby circuit on the psu anymore. It goes like 18v to the main board, there is a buck converter(s) there, maybe check it?

Last edited by CapLeaker; 10-16-2021 at 12:06 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2021, 04:15 PM   #4
triplefour
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Hilo, HI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
You could use an external power supply set to 3.5 - 4.5V or use two/ three 1.5V batteries connected in series. I would also use a 1K resistor in series with the supply so nothing is damaged if you connect it to the wrong pins.
thanks for the response. i have a couple questions tho. firstly: why 3.5-4.5v and not just a straight 5v? i understand the 1k resistor part as thats what i normally do when taking 5v from the 5vsb pin.

thing is i know i have some 5v power supplies lying around i can canibalize to make this tool. but probly harder to find one that says 4.5

second question: do i just connect the negative of the psu to a ground screw on the psu and put the positive (with 1k resistor) to the PSON?

thanks again
triplefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2021, 04:16 PM   #5
triplefour
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Hilo, HI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
some new tv's don't have a separate 5v stby circuit on the psu anymore. It goes like 18v to the main board, there is a buck converter(s) there, maybe check it?
not sure thats such a good idea since i am trying to test only the PSU and for this to work i would have to have the MB hooked up as well, and i think its not good to force the PSU on with the MB connected?
triplefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2021, 06:24 AM   #6
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,526
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

Quote:
Originally Posted by triplefour View Post
second question: do i just connect the negative of the psu to a ground screw on the psu and put the positive (with 1k resistor) to the PSON?
thanks again
As you say the negative to the ground screw or ground terminal of the TV's power supply. You could use 5V but I would not go any higher. Some power supply adapters give out a higher voltage than stated on them so I would check the output voltage before carrying out the test.
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 12:16 AM   #7
triplefour
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Hilo, HI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

OK I made the tool. I used a usb block like for charging phones and I cut the end off of a usb cable and soldered the red and black wires to a couple pins. Now i can put 5v wherever I want!

So I put it to pson and blon but still it doesn't turn on the backlight.

The voltages on CN201 stay the same
But I do get a couple of new voltages on the other connector CN301
FAULT = 3.1V
CS = 2.8V
All other are 0v
Checking the led connectors I get between 7.5 and 8v on each of the LED pins and 84v on the VOUT pins.

I discovered by accident while testing the vsync pin for voltage that if I had my finger on the metal of the probe that it would give .5v to this pin and the backlights came on weakly. Testing the led pins under this condition I got around 16v on each and about 90v on the vout.
So then I tried to give the 5v to that pin and the backlight comes on to full brightness. The led pins voltage all drop to 1.1v which tho which is confusing to me...the vout pins measure 95v.

If I give 3v (borrowed from the fault pin ) I get a similar result. If I give the 2.8v I get a similar result as to the .5v from my finger. Not very bright and measuring 13v or so on the leds.

Not sure what it all means. It seems like ive succeeded in proving the psu can power the backlights...but what about everything else ?
triplefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 12:19 AM   #8
triplefour
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Hilo, HI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

Pics
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20211019_183807.jpg (807.3 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20211019_183709.jpg (512.7 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by triplefour; 10-20-2021 at 12:22 AM..
triplefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 05:48 PM   #9
triplefour
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Hilo, HI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

im guessing (and also did google search to be sure) that the service manual is closely guarded in some vizio vault... would like to know what fault = 3.1v means
triplefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 09:21 PM   #10
triplefour
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Hilo, HI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Vizio m557-g0 no response

just to follow up and close out this thread, i ended up ordering the main board, and it turns out my diagnosis was correct. but sad story: while i was waiting for the the part, the screen got badly damaged. i guess i didnt store it in the best place...someone must have kicked it or something. so i parted out the TV and will try to sell the parts on ebay. life goes on!
triplefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?