Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Measuring any type of capacitor with ESR meter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Measuring any type of capacitor with ESR meter?

Hi , so im sure someone has asked this before but i just cant find an answer online and im also not an electrical engineer. So i was thinking of using an ESR meter for measuring ESR of lets say tantulum capacitors, instead of always mentioned electrolitic caps. Will the reading be the same as in electrolitic caps? What about ceramic ones?

Re: Measuring any type of capacitor with ESR meter?

you can meter any type of caps

Comment

Also , i have this weird thing happening , on some capacitors that i suspect are faulty ... it gives me a reading when testing in diode mode .. it shows around 1200reading when going across them...what does this mean? some of them dont give me a reading at all , and they are exactly the same capacitors... Does it mean that the ones that give me the reading are faulty?

Comment

also its not just a brief reading like when you test a charged capacitor ... instead its more like a steady decline reading , starting from around 1400 going downwards really slowly... also im testing them in diode mode in reverse polarity... Negative probe on positive side ETC...

Comment

Hhmm ...
          Are you using a real ESR meter ? I don't know any ESR meter with a diode mode to test capacitors.
          If you are using a DMM you most likely are charging the cap - and putting the red and black lead in a different way may discharge the cap.

In another position you probably are charging the cap.

By the way , when testing ESR you should always discharge the cap first .

Comment