Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2008, 03:54 PM   #121
electron
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Benq 17" Q7T3 fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by davmax
Some have asked for PCB photos. Well I have just fixed and modified another monitor and taken photos.

This monitor was received with a damaged ribbon connector. This is usually because the release mechanism is not understood. To release the ribbon cable lift /rotate the black locking bar outward from the centre of the top edge. Do not force.

Update: My PCB board matches this one exactly. So I have the same model as the one here. Whats the full model number of this screen?
electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 01:18 PM   #122
LETSOC
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

hy i have the same problem ..... with the Benq FP737s 17" i dont have any lights but if you look closer at the monitor you can see the desktop


sorry for the post, please help me what i have to do ... ?
(sory for my english im romanian)\



Thx,
LETSOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 03:17 PM   #123
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LETSOC
hy i have the same problem ..... with the Benq FP737s 17" i dont have any lights but if you look closer at the monitor you can see the desktop


sorry for the post, please help me what i have to do ... ?
(sory for my english im romanian)\



Thx,
Either you have a transistor problem or the backlights have burnt out.

If your backlights are burnt out, consider buying a new monitor if the 2SC5707 transistors are still good.
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition 3.3GHz Six-Core CPU (Socket AM3)
ASUS M4A77TD AMD 770 AM3 Motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 Graphics Card
G.SKILL Value Series 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD (x2)
WD Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-750M 750W ATX12V v2.32 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Antec Three Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:50 AM   #124
mattmozz
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

thank for the info my monitor is now back up and running
mattmozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:57 AM   #125
mattmozz
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

i had a similar problem i just re-soldered all of the joints near all of the transistors and near where all of the connections are to the screen (back light) and followed them back and just removed all the old solider and added fresh.
mattmozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 09:18 PM   #126
FreeGeekVan
New Member
 
FreeGeekVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by davmax
It is not a good idea to have a 3A slow blow fuse "not recommended if it is to protect the transistors". A fast fuse may save the transistors.

agentsmithitaly

I suspect blown transistors again.
1. Make sure that all the inverter transformer connections are resoldered
2. Use a fast 3A fuse
3. Check the MOSFET in each circuit Q751 & Q743 (FU9024N) they should not read a short circuit.

http://www.lcdrepair.us/fu9024n.html

See my experiences earlier in the thread. These transistors are not well protected by the circuit design. I modified the circuit and the monitor is very well protected.
Hello,

I help coordinate Free Geek, which is a non-profit computer recycler and education centre. We see tonnes of equipment come through our doors monthly. Lately we have seen an increase in LCD's.

Many of these LCD's for recycling we can bring back to life. We have seen our fair share of the Benq/Dell nasties. Our past repairs have worked well(replacing C5707 and fuse), however lately we have been having a lot of come backs.

Presently we sit on 15-20 Dell/Benq type LCDs with the Q7T3. I wouldnt mind folks opinions on the best way to move forward. I would especially like to hear from Davmax, after reading all the effort you have put into this. Should we do the mod job you worked out, or stick to replacing C5707 and fuses with a re-soldered inverter transformer connections(which we have done in the past but only on one or two of the repairs.)

The last 10 repairs we have done came back. We had just replaced the two C5707 and the fuse, there was no re-soldering of the inverter transformer. Was this the cause of the blown C5707 again?

We have a big job ahead of us, and don't want anymore come backs. Suggestions or comments welcome!

--
David

http://freegeekvancouver.org
FreeGeekVan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 02:32 AM   #127
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,298
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

these units have lots of solder joint issues.
mostly at the transformers but can be anywhere on the psu/inverter.
look closely for ringcracks and pads showing bare copper where the solder did not flow out properly.
these are a job for your geeks with good vision and a good magnifier lamp.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 10:23 AM   #128
arneson
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: SWF
Posts: 1,258
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

I wear my red green 3D goggles.
The board looks all purple.
__________________
Jim
arneson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 03:43 AM   #129
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

I have recently discovered that a slight change in my current limit modification is required to better cover variations in the BC640 transistor.

The latest mod diagram is attached together with the parts list.
Note the current sense resistor can be one 0.082 1% resistor or the first two resistors in the parts in the parts list.



I will post the new component layout tomorrow.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg current limit schem.jpg (129.2 KB, 241 views)
Attached Files
File Type: doc Benq Q7T3 mod parts.doc (19.5 KB, 246 views)

Last edited by davmax; 10-14-2008 at 03:48 AM..
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 12:47 AM   #130
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

The new layout detail is attached. Note the original value for R767 of 2.2k need not be changed to 680. See circuit diagram.


To Freegeekvan

If you do the current limit mod you will not blow the transistors again. If for some reason the current limit is exceeded the controller chip will lock out drive to the MOSFET transistors suppling each inverter. It can be reset by power removal or loss of video signal.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mod2 PCB under_small.jpg (151.4 KB, 201 views)
File Type: jpg Mod PCB Top_small.jpg (98.0 KB, 211 views)
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:35 AM   #131
arneson
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: SWF
Posts: 1,258
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

I've got all the components to try this except the FU 9024n,
which is only a couple bucks.
When I get time I'll pull this board again to give it a try.
I had already tried your first idea adding limitting resistors with success until I reasembled the monitor and it was dead again.
That leads me back to the possability of the transformer solder joint leg issue.
Thanks for putting a lot of work on that.
If I have your mod working cool and bright I'll certainly post back again.
arneson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 06:24 PM   #132
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Jim,

If you following the latest small change to the mod you should have great success. Just a matter of connecting it all correctly and cutting the right tracks.

I found it more convenient to use one 0.082 resistor for the current sensing than the two in parrallel (0.1 and 0.56).

The original circuit with a 2.7K resistor in parallel with the 1uF cap (now 270) tended to trip easily making it appear that there is a monitor problem.

Yes make sure of those soldered joints.
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 05:19 AM   #133
pecolt
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

I want to ask you same question.I have LCD Monitor Benq , But in the electric bus the element Q 805 is burned and I can't to read what is the element and change it. If you cant saw me this information I will be very happy.
pecolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 06:04 AM   #134
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pecolt
I want to ask you same question.I have LCD Monitor Benq , But in the electric bus the element Q 805 is burned and I can't to read what is the element and change it. If you cant saw me this information I will be very happy.
I have searched the circuits of the FP737s and there is no Q805. This is a problem. Please check again.

davmax
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 03:27 PM   #135
FreeGeekVan
New Member
 
FreeGeekVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pecolt
I want to ask you same question.I have LCD Monitor Benq , But in the electric bus the element Q 805 is burned and I can't to read what is the element and change it. If you cant saw me this information I will be very happy.
I believe you are working on a Q7T4. I put up a different thread here:

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...6397#post56397

It contains a picture of the part placed at Q805, plus some other information.
FreeGeekVan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 06:40 PM   #136
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

So Q805 is FU9024N in Q7T4. Thanks Freegeekvan
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 01:13 AM   #137
pecolt
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Thank for that information. I'm so glad.
I have some question. I have one TV monitor "REFLEXTION" 22inc. model TDD2200 with DVD player integrate. Can send me some all electric bus because there have many burned elements who I cant"t read.
pecolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 01:27 AM   #138
pecolt
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pecolt
Thank for that information. I'm so glad.
I have some question. I have one LCD TV monitor "REFLEXTION" 22inch model TDD2200 with DVD player integrate. Can send me some all electric bus because there have many burned elements who I can't read.
pecolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 06:25 AM   #139
pecolt
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

pecolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 07:22 PM   #140
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

I forgot to advise that if the FU9024N (Q805) is burned up this is unusual and will most likely mean other components have failed. Normally the correct micro fuse would prevent this problem. I wonder if someone used an incorrect replacement fuse!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pecolt
I want to ask you same question.I have LCD Monitor Benq , But in the electric bus the element Q 805 is burned and I can't to read what is the element and change it. If you cant saw me this information I will be very happy.
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?