Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2009, 04:22 PM   #221
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicrowley
Hi Dave,
I have recently been given one of these Benq 17Ē monitors, but only because it had died. Iím only an amateur dabbler in electronics, and I think Iíve just about been able to follow most of your circuit mods, and the reasoning behind them. Now I know from the dates on the posted articles, it was some time ago you were working on this monitor, but I was wondering if you now have a final definitive modification list, and final circuit diagrams. I ask this as reading through the various posts, you were obviously developing and changing things as you found new problems, and from reading through, it is hard to be sure Iím using your final solution for all the mods.

PS. I hope Iíve entered this in the right place, Iím new to this forum.

Vic
Welcome to the forums.
While the post is in the right place, you might want to PM davmax directly.
__________________
There are 10 kind of people in this world: those that understand binary, and those who don't.
  • ASUS ROG Maximus IX Code
  • Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz
  • 16gb GSKILL TridentZ RGB DDR4-3200
  • 1 M2 SSD + 2 WD Blue 1TB (Mirrored)
  • Windows 10 Pro x64
  • GeForce GT1050
    2 x Acer KA240H + 1 Vewsonic VP2130 21 (a cap replacement job )
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 04:58 PM   #222
vicrowley
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Thanks, will look and see how to do that.

Vic
vicrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:02 PM   #223
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

In response to a request for the final modification details
I have made this easy by posting the final versions at an online album here: http://picasaweb.google.com.au/davmax60/MonitorRepairs#

Use the full screen facility to see the detail.

Please note that there are two versions of current sense resistor, either a single resistor or two in parallel. Therefore the photo of the board underside shows the 0.082 ohm resistor version (alternately this resistor would be 0.56 ohm). The photo of the upper board shows the position of the 0.1 ohm resistor.
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-DS3L Ultra Reliable (Power saver)
Intel E8400 (3000Mhz) Bios temps. 4096Mb 800Mhz DDR2 Corsair XMS2 4-4-4-12
160Gb WD SATAII Server grade
Nvidia 8500GT 256Mb
160Gb WD eSATAII Server grade for backup.
Samsung 18x DVD writer
Pioneer 16x DVD writer + 6x Dual layer
33 way card reader
Windows XP Pro SP3
Thermaltake Matrix case with 430W Silent Power
17" Benq FP737s LCD monitor
HP Officejet Pro K5300 with refillable tanks
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 10:34 PM   #224
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

I feel I should add that to achieve the modification I describe you will need all the tools.
A soldering iron and self fluxing solder.
A PCB drill and bit 0.8 - 1 mm
A sharp knife to cut tracks.
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:28 PM   #225
vicrowley
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Thanks for the advice, and as far as the actual work of the board is concerned, Iím fairly confident on that score. In the past when I used to work for my living (now retired), I was for a few years in a data collection lab, and soldering strain gauges, some of which were only thirty thou long, and that included the two solder tags. So we had to work under a 30 to 1 microscope. I guess thatís why I now need glasses. So like say the physical stuff I can deal with, itís the technical working of these modern electronics I know nothing about. Itís all black boxes (Chips), and unless I know what each of these does and how it achieves it, Iím lost. So thanks for doing all the hard work, and Iíll let you know once Iíve completed the task, if my confidence was well founded or not.

Vic
vicrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 12:45 PM   #226
Lim Yong Seng
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
City & State: Singapore
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Hi Everybody,

Thanks all of you for the useful postings which help me to repair a BenQ FP731.
It does not have any display with the green LED stays on.

Things done
-------------
1. Replaced fuse (BEL MS 3A), PF751 is open-circuit. I used a 2A pico fuse because I do not have a 3A fuse on hand.

2. Solder inverter transistors (2SC5707), Q739, Q740, Q759 and Q760. The solder cracked when I moved these 4 transistors.

3. Solder power MOSFETs (FU9024N), Q743 and Q751. The solder cracked when I moved these 2 MOSFETs.

4. Solder transformers, T751, T752, T753 and T754. No solder cracked, just re-solder to prevent dry joints.

5. After power on, left half of the monitor displays information correctly but right half has pink background with a continuous black line in the centre of the screen.

6. Remove the two flex-cables and clean the contacts (dirt found) with alcohol.

7. Power on and the monitor is in working condition.

Once again, thanks all you for the important information.

Have a nice weekend...Yong Seng
Lim Yong Seng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 02:27 PM   #227
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lim Yong Seng
Hi Everybody,

Thanks all of you for the useful postings which help me to repair a BenQ FP731.
It does not have any display with the green LED stays on.

Things done
-------------
1. Replaced fuse (BEL MS 3A), PF751 is open-circuit. I used a 2A pico fuse because I do not have a 3A fuse on hand.

2. Solder inverter transistors (2SC5707), Q739, Q740, Q759 and Q760. The solder cracked when I moved these 4 transistors.

3. Solder power MOSFETs (FU9024N), Q743 and Q751. The solder cracked when I moved these 2 MOSFETs.

4. Solder transformers, T751, T752, T753 and T754. No solder cracked, just re-solder to prevent dry joints.

5. After power on, left half of the monitor displays information correctly but right half has pink background with a continuous black line in the centre of the screen.

6. Remove the two flex-cables and clean the contacts (dirt found) with alcohol.

7. Power on and the monitor is in working condition.

Once again, thanks all you for the important information.

Have a nice weekend...Yong Seng
Congratulations, and welcome to Badcaps.Net!
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 03:39 AM   #228
enterthehatrix
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Hey guys.

Got all my monitors working except one, which virtually burst into flames.

The good news is that the LCD and the little VGA board still work.

Has anyone else tried to manually power this up? I intend to use the screen as a light weight portable screen backlit by LEDs and powered by batteries (if possible)

Could someone try this and if it works, could they do a diagram of the VGA board and point out which pins require what voltages, etc?

On the schematic, it has BLT_ON and BOLT_ADJ which I assume is the backlight, PW_DOWN (no idea), Volume On/off and volume (not used), GND, P12V, P3.3v, +3.3v, and +5v

What's the difference between P3.3v and +3.3v?

Last edited by enterthehatrix; 07-10-2009 at 03:42 AM..
enterthehatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 12:42 AM   #229
Caloute
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Hi all,

Go the parts from ebay (Actually bought 2 sets), replaced all 7 parts.
Before it was completely dead, now with the new parts, it actually shows benq logo, or destop image, but just for 2 seconds and then nothing. Any idea?

I kind of gave up, so if anybody from Australia is interested in buying the parts, or the screen for further part such as casing etc...I suppose the screen is still good...
Anyways let me know.
Caloute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 05:28 PM   #230
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caloute
Hi all,

Go the parts from ebay (Actually bought 2 sets), replaced all 7 parts.
Before it was completely dead, now with the new parts, it actually shows benq logo, or destop image, but just for 2 seconds and then nothing. Any idea?

I kind of gave up, so if anybody from Australia is interested in buying the parts, or the screen for further part such as casing etc...I suppose the screen is still good...
Anyways let me know.
Resolder the transformers and other common solder points (see all the thread). You'll be fine.
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:21 AM   #231
fety
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

LOOK people! 9 times out of 10, Cold solder joints DO exist on the board. Looky what I found on mine! BE SURE TO REMELT OR (better yet) RESOLDER THE TRANSFORMERS!!!

btw, this is from a Dell E172FP / E172FPb
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN4174-opt.jpg (732.0 KB, 624 views)

Last edited by fety; 08-07-2009 at 02:27 AM..
fety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 12:00 AM   #232
fety
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Well CRAP!! It didn't work! I got the kit on ebay and replaced all 7 parts and resoldered the transformers as well as resoldered a few other suspiciously lame looking solder joints. Nothing shows up on the screen now, just the power LED blinks about every 1.5 seconds AND I can hear a faint tick sound. Like what HelpQuick experienced... What is this a symptom of? what can I try next? replace all/most of the caps? Btw, I'm not an electrical guru, I just have a A. W. Sperry AMM to work with so don't ask me to test this or that if I'm not capable of doing so. Thanks

HEEEEELLLLLLLLP!!!!!!!!
fety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 02:55 PM   #233
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,012
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fety
Well CRAP!! It didn't work! I got the kit on ebay and replaced all 7 parts and resoldered the transformers as well as resoldered a few other suspiciously lame looking solder joints. Nothing shows up on the screen now, just the power LED blinks about every 1.5 seconds AND I can hear a faint tick sound. Like what HelpQuick experienced... What is this a symptom of? what can I try next? replace all/most of the caps? Btw, I'm not an electrical guru, I just have a A. W. Sperry AMM to work with so don't ask me to test this or that if I'm not capable of doing so. Thanks

HEEEEELLLLLLLLP!!!!!!!!
That ticking sound is a symptom of the power supply shutting down and restarting. Have you checked the transistors you installed?

PlainBill
__________________
For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:26 AM   #234
fety
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill
That ticking sound is a symptom of the power supply shutting down and restarting. Have you checked the transistors you installed?

PlainBill
Check them, how? they're brand new...from the 7 piece kit on eBay. Would they fry instantly? Solder looks good.
fety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:40 AM   #235
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,012
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fety
Check them, how? they're brand new...from the 7 piece kit on eBay. Would they fry instantly? Solder looks good.
Use an ohmmeter.

Yes, they can short instantly if the problem that caused them to short is still present.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:27 AM   #236
steven.va
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Hi All,

I got a Benq 17" Q7T3 TFT like you all.
It had it's two 2SC5707 shorted, FU 9024n shorted, 3A fuse open.

So far I have replaced the fet with an IRF9540, wich according to
my suppier is a good replacement.

I replaced the two broken 2SC5707's with TIP132. I know this is not good, however it was the only thing I could get my hands on...
Resoldered the transformers, resoldered other suspicious joints too.

Powering the TFT up:
Well: it did not go up in smoke

Backlight works, and it shows the "Benq" logo. Went out after 4 seconds.
I Tried that again:
So I connected a PC and it showed the window desktop just fine, but again, the monitor shutted itself down after a few seconds (faster every time)

Things tried with data cable disconnected:
- Connected CCFL lamps to inverter 1 (the good one)
---> Screen is lit, shuts down after a few seconds
- Connected CCFL lamps to inverter 2 (the repaired one)
---> Screen is lit, shuts down after a few seconds
- Connected CCFL lamps to inverter 1 & 2
---> Screen is lit, shuts down after a few seconds

However: when feeling at the TIP 132 transistors they get HOT.
I can barley touch them with my hands.

....while the two remaining 2SC5707 are actually cool running.
Is the TFT shutting down because of the improper transistors used, or is there another fault I can check that overheats the TIP 132's

Should I swap the two remaining good 2SC5707 with TIP132 too just to see that they overheat too or not?

Greetings and thank you in advance!
S.

Last edited by steven.va; 12-02-2009 at 11:32 AM..
steven.va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:49 AM   #237
Bobdee
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
City & State: WALES UK
Posts: 461
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

You need to go with 4 of the 2SC5707s or 4 of others, but the TIPs are known to run hot (not recomended)
Bobdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:43 PM   #238
steven.va
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobdee
You need to go with 4 of the 2SC5707s or 4 of others, but the TIPs are known to run hot (not recomended)
Could that explain the shutting down of the inverter after 4-5 seconds?

Greetings,
S.
steven.va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:53 PM   #239
Bobdee
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
City & State: WALES UK
Posts: 461
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

Yes in one
You need to go 4 of same type
Easy and quick to get 2SC5707s on ebay
Bobdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 06:50 AM   #240
steven.va
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Fix for Benq FP737s 17" (Q7T3)

My 2SC5707s arrived. Soldered them in, and my Benq FP731 works!

I did resolder the connections to transformers.

Greetings,
Steven
steven.va is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?