Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2021, 03:45 PM   #1
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 140
Smile Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

This smartcast tv will not update. I have tried 3 different main boards and 2 different wifi modules. I have also tried manually updating it with the latest firmware on a thumb drive. Each main board shows the current version as 3.2 and the latest version is 4.6. Nothing's working.
It shows it's downloading, then it restarts and then all I see is a spinning circle in middle of the screen. I have let it run that way for hours and hours and that's all it will do.
Can someone please tell me what might be the problem? I would be truly grateful. Thanks.
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2021, 05:52 AM   #2
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 140
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkmanJimbo View Post
This smartcast tv will not update. I have tried 3 different main boards and 2 different wifi modules. I have also tried manually updating it with the latest firmware on a thumb drive. Each main board shows the current version as 3.2 and the latest version is 4.6. Nothing's working.
It shows it's downloading, then it restarts and then all I see is a spinning circle in middle of the screen. I have let it run that way for hours and hours and that's all it will do.
Can someone please tell me what might be the problem? I would be truly grateful. Thanks.
Can anybody help me with this?
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2021, 10:23 AM   #3
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 140
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

Can anybody help me with this?
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 03:49 PM   #4
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 140
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

I really would appreciate some help here. Thanks in advance.
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 02:06 PM   #5
frannyjunk
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

I have the same problem. My Vizio D32H-F0 TV will try to update, but then reboots a couple times and eventually goes to a blank screen. Did you find a fix?
frannyjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 02:14 PM   #6
JunkmanJimbo
Senior Member
 
JunkmanJimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Mount Holly, NC
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 140
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

I never did find a fix for it. I finally gave up. Good luck on finding a fix.
JunkmanJimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 03:43 PM   #7
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,186
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

not sure what was tried, maybe try a factory reset, then make sure you're connected to wifi correctly, run initial setup, tv should probably check for updates at that point. When you do it, try to have the tv close to the wifi signal.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 03:48 PM   #8
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,186
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

if no joy maybe try the usb update again, making sure you follow the directions from their site exactly as described.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 09:16 PM   #9
frannyjunk
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

i read on another site where a few people had to find newer versions of firmware, but not the latest version. Upon installing the "intermediate" version, then tv was able to self update thereafter. But I can't find "intermediate" versions of the firmware. My tv still has the original firmware, and the latest firmware version just will not install. So, any way to locate older firmware? If I can find those files, I can update using USB drive.
frannyjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 09:17 PM   #10
frannyjunk
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Default Re: Vizio D32h-f4 will not update

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
not sure what was tried, maybe try a factory reset, then make sure you're connected to wifi correctly, run initial setup, tv should probably check for updates at that point. When you do it, try to have the tv close to the wifi signal.
I tried but factory reset and USB. Neither worked, unfortunately.
frannyjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?