Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2022, 12:38 PM   #61
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,153
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by romasik View Post
7907 check his ok, on 4 legs 40mV
Check for a shorted D7988, or defective PC7903, something is killing the feedback voltage. I suspect the voltage needs to be above 1 volt and maybe around 3~5 volts, but needs to be lower than 8 volts

Last edited by R_J; 05-19-2022 at 12:40 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 01:02 PM   #62
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Check for a shorted D7988, or defective PC7903, something is killing the feedback voltage. I suspect the voltage needs to be above 1 volt and maybe around 3~5 volts, but needs to be lower than 8 volts
D7908 170 and 90 Omh
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 04:07 PM   #63
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

What do you think?
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 04:40 PM   #64
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,153
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by romasik View Post
What do you think?
I think something is causing the voltage to be too low. If you look at the datasheet for the ic (page 11) you will see FB/OLP pin is supplied by approximately 7 volts, this line is controlled externally, so I suspect either the diode D7908 is bad or the optocoupler is bad.
170Ω and 90Ω does seem to be low. lift one end of the diode and check again to see what the resistance is.

Last edited by R_J; 05-19-2022 at 04:48 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 04:54 PM   #65
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
I think something is causing the voltage to be too low. If you look at the datasheet for the ic (page 11) you will see FB/OLP pin is supplied by approximately 7 volts, this line is controlled externally, so I suspect either the diode D7908 is bad or the optocoupler is bad.
170Ω and 90Ω does seem to be low. lift one end of the diode and check again to see what the resistance is.
Ok, i check later (it's too late, I'm going to sleep). How i can check IC7903 defective or not?
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2022, 05:29 PM   #66
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,153
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by romasik View Post
Ok, i check later (it's too late, I'm going to sleep). How i can check IC7903 defective or not?
I would check the resistance and compare with the other two or try exchanging it with pc7904 and see if you get your standby voltage.
You should be able to leave the zener diode out of circuit for testing.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 12:09 AM   #67
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
I would check the resistance and compare with the other two or try exchanging it with pc7904 and see if you get your standby voltage.
You should be able to leave the zener diode out of circuit for testing.
What is PC7904 ? And which diode should be soldered to test?
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 12:11 AM   #68
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by romasik View Post
What is PC7904 ? And which diode should be soldered to test?
PC7904 i found, how check his?
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 06:27 AM   #69
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

I checked diode D7908 57Omh and infinity , PC7904, PC7903 desolder and check all fine(
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 10:46 AM   #70
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,153
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

If the optocoupler and the diode are good, then it only leaves the ic that is bad.
If you look at the datasheet page 11, you will see that without anything connected to the FB pin, that pin should be at 7 volts. Normally the optocoupler controls this voltage and varies it around 3~4 volts to control the ic. You measured almost 0 volts on the FB pin. So something is keeping the voltage low or the ic is bad.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 11:40 AM   #71
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
If the optocoupler and the diode are good, then it only leaves the ic that is bad.
If you look at the datasheet page 11, you will see that without anything connected to the FB pin, that pin should be at 7 volts. Normally the optocoupler controls this voltage and varies it around 3~4 volts to control the ic. You measured almost 0 volts on the FB pin. So something is keeping the voltage low or the ic is bad.
is it possible to check ic somehow? in my city they are only in one store, it will be from the same batch.

How i can check my ic? Thanks
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 11:43 AM   #72
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

and I also suspect the C7900, but I don’t understand how to check it with a multimeter. Like a regular cap, it does not show voltage after charging.
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 12:22 PM   #73
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,806
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

What is your ohm reading on R7900?
__________________
I assume no responsibility for any stupid suggestions I might post.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 01:28 PM   #74
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by dskall View Post
What is your ohm reading on R7900?

R7900 is ok, I am writing about C7900
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 01:44 PM   #75
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,153
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

C7900 is likely good, If it was open circuit it will not stop the circuit from working. This cap is not your problem.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 01:58 PM   #76
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

I no longer know what to do, maybe IC7903 is defective ? I also read on another forum that the voltage on large caps should be 380V with a working ic7801, and I have 300
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 03:05 PM   #77
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,153
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by romasik View Post
I no longer know what to do, maybe IC7903 is defective ? I also read on another forum that the voltage on large caps should be 380V with a working ic7801, and I have 300
You need the #$%%^ standby circuit working BEFORE the pfc circuit OR the main supply circuit will work.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 03:10 PM   #78
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
You need the #$%%^ standby circuit working BEFORE the pfc circuit OR the main supply circuit will work.
what to do? try to change IC7903 again?
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 03:14 PM   #79
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,153
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Check the transformer winding between pins 4 and 5, it should be almost 0Ω, then check the resistors R7908,R7909,R7913, if they are good, check the diode D7904, also check the zener diode D7909

If these are all good, Disconnect D7908 and pins 3&4 of the optocoupler PC7903 and see if the voltage on pin 4 of ic7903 comes up to about 7 volts. If it does not, I suspect the ic is bad.
It is a simple circuit, and should not be that hard to diagnose.

If you look at the schematic for the dps-262, you will see the pfc ic ic7801 pin8 gets it's VCC_ON voltage from the emitter of Q7902, The collector voltage is supplied via D7906/C7918. This voltage is only there when the standby circuit is working.

Last edited by R_J; 05-20-2022 at 03:26 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 03:24 PM   #80
romasik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Dnipro
My Country: Ukraine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 44
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Check the transformer winding between pins 4 and 5, it should be almost 0Ω, then check the resistors R7908,R7909,R7913, if they are good, check the diode D7904, also check the zener diode D7909

If these are all good, Disconnect D7908 and pins 3&4 of the optocoupler PC7903 and see if the voltage on pin 4 of ic7903 comes up to about 7 volts. If it does not, I suspect the ic is bad.
It is a simple circuit, and should not be that hard to diagnose.
transformer T7901 ? Why 4,5 ?
romasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?