Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2008, 07:27 PM   #1
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Pentium 4 vent

I have just received a used P4 and the vent hole in the top of the case is open allowing atmosphere into the case. I normally see this hole sealed. It occurs to me that if the hole is open then excess pressure based on high temperature has occurred and popped the vent.

I have Googled many different ways to get some enlightenment on this vent but have found nothing of use.

Comment or input please.
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-DS3L Ultra Reliable (Power saver)
Intel E8400 (3000Mhz) Bios temps. 4096Mb 800Mhz DDR2 Corsair XMS2 4-4-4-12
160Gb WD SATAII Server grade
Nvidia 8500GT 256Mb
160Gb WD eSATAII Server grade for backup.
Samsung 18x DVD writer
Pioneer 16x DVD writer + 6x Dual layer
33 way card reader
Windows XP Pro SP3
Thermaltake Matrix case with 430W Silent Power
17" Benq FP737s LCD monitor
HP Officejet Pro K5300 with refillable tanks
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 07:57 PM   #2
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,296
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

It's merely a hole for letting out gases during curing the sealers during manufacturing.

Sounds like you never seen one with a open hole. Especially brand new CPUs.

Don't worry.

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:45 PM   #3
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

Thanks. You right I have not seen this hole open before. All others are sealed. I would expect to be sealed whilst not installed to keep out ambient moisture.

So no suspicion of a cause.
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:57 PM   #4
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,296
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pe..._northwood.png

This is fresh P4 CPU.

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 04:15 AM   #5
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,298
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

since the mobile varients dont even have the heat spreader and have the bare die exposed its nothing to worry about.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 04:36 AM   #6
stevo1210
Badcaps Veteran
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,012
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

Quote:
Originally Posted by davmax
Thanks. You right I have not seen this hole open before. All others are sealed. I would expect to be sealed whilst not installed to keep out ambient moisture.

So no suspicion of a cause.
I think the seal would be from the thermal paste that has covered the hole. Usually, I'd sit there and clean the hole out with a blunt stick of some sort or even using sticky tape to clean it out.
__________________
Don't find love, let love find you. That's why its called falling in love, because you don't force yourself to fall, you just fall. - Anonymous
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 06:13 AM   #7
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

Thanks for all contributions. I have learned something AND the CPU passes all diagnostics.
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 11:45 PM   #8
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,443
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

Indeed... without the hole, the airspace between the heatspreader and the CPU die would be air-tight. When the processor heated up, I would imagine it would break that seal one way or another, and it might not be the way you want it to
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 01:08 AM   #9
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

True if not mounted. But I would suspect that if mounted with heatsink compound the vent would be sealed.
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 01:50 AM   #10
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,296
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

Exactly, the copper heatspeader isn't totally sealed all around on later CPUs as part of improvement manufacturing process and cut down on cost of punching out tiny hole and less use on glue.

http://home.arcor.de/xxmartin/A64/a64_ihs.jpg this is also found on Core 2 Duo (using lipped heatspeader).

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/...cking/intel/37 (fails to view with FF, IE viewable. :P)

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:24 AM   #11
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,924
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

I just looked at it in firefox.
__________________
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 05:00 PM   #12
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Pentium 4 vent

Thanks Wizard


Those links are a great contribution. Makes facts crystal clear.
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?