Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2016, 12:41 PM   #1
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Hi everyone!

This Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV was hit by a near lightning strike. The Delta DPS-167CP power supply has no power output at all, thus no power to the screen, no LEDs, etc. My first order of business is to try to figure out why it doesn't have any 5V constant output.

The fuse at F7001 is fine. The large rectifier at BD7001 has 160.3VDC measured on the far leads. All the capacitors look visually OK and test OK with an in circuit ESR tester. A quick check of the resistors doesn't show any that are open circuit, but I haven't checked their exact measurements yet. I'm working on tracing where the 5V constant comes from, but thought I'd start a post to see if anyone has experience with this power supply. Any common faults or places to start looking/testing?

Many thanks, in advance.

I've attached a couple images of the power supply. Also, ShopJimmy has some good photos: http://www.shopjimmy.com/sharp-runtk...-led-board.htm
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9675.jpg (912.9 KB, 126 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9674.jpg (1.07 MB, 63 views)
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 12:55 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Check fusible resistor R7900 (2.2 Ohms) to see if it is open.
IC7903 is the STBY SMPS IC which drives the power transformer T7901, D7950 is the rectifier diode on the Cold side.
You should run the power supply board by itself to see if you do have STBY Voltage or not.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 08-02-2016 at 01:02 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 12:58 PM   #3
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Check fusible resistor R7900 (2.2 Ohms) to see if it is open.
Thanks for the quick reply! R7900 is measuring 2.4 Ohms.
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 01:03 PM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Try running the power uspply board by itself without other board connected in case the main board has shorted circuit and loaded down the STBY power supply.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 01:05 PM   #5
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

So right now you are not getting DCV on any pins of the PD connector, verify?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 01:09 PM   #6
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
So right now you are not getting DCV on any pins of the PD connector, verify?
Correct, no DCV on any any output pin. Sorry, I should have mentioned that I tested with the other boards disconnected last night. Just tested again to be certain. No output whatsoever even without load on the power supply.
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 01:35 PM   #7
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Need to get the P/N of IC7903 so you can check and see if it has VCC to run the IC or not.
You still need to check D7950 tof ind out if it is shorted or not.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 02:13 PM   #8
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

IC7903 looks to be an A6069H. I found this data sheet: http://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%20...000_Series.pdf

It's getting 161V between pins 8 and 3. I'm only measuring .031V between pins 5 and 3.

D7950 is testing strangely. Forward voltage drop is .315V, but when I test the reverse voltage, it hunts around in between -1.5V and -1.9V before it finally settles on 0. [Edit - tested OK once removed from the circuit]

I'm pretty sure D7904 is shorted with .012V drop in both directions. [Edit - tested OK once removed from the circuit]
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 3.00.14 PM.png (688.4 KB, 88 views)

Last edited by egoh; 08-02-2016 at 03:24 PM.. Reason: Tested some more...
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 02:39 PM   #9
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

OK, after looking at the board traces, the D7904 (it is the rectifier diode that convert AC from the AUX winding of the STBY transformer to provide the running VCC Voltage one the IC is in running mode) should lift up one leg off the board and test it again, if it is not tested bad then more likely the IC VCC pin 5 is shorted out or the filter cap C7906, or Zener D7910 is shorted (You can lift one leg off the board to see if the shorts will go away).
The SMPS IC is STR-A6000 series.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf STR-A6000H-Series-Application-Note.pdf (487.2 KB, 81 views)

Last edited by budm; 08-02-2016 at 02:42 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 03:21 PM   #10
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Removed and tested D7904 and D7950. They tested fine once removed from the circuit. I think I'm leaning towards the IC being shorted. I'll have to save the C7906 and D7910 test for tomorrow. I have my 4 year old watching, but his patience is about up. Thanks so much for your help! It looks like I'll have to get an order together soon.
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 07:59 AM   #11
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
OK, after looking at the board traces, the D7904 (it is the rectifier diode that convert AC from the AUX winding of the STBY transformer to provide the running VCC Voltage one the IC is in running mode) should lift up one leg off the board and test it again, if it is not tested bad then more likely the IC VCC pin 5 is shorted out or the filter cap C7906, or Zener D7910 is shorted (You can lift one leg off the board to see if the shorts will go away).
The SMPS IC is STR-A6000 series.
Any idea what the specs are on C7906 (no markings) and D7910 (has a 202 on it)? I get a little nervous working with SMD stuff and not having a backup. Remember the good old days when everything had a schematic?
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 09:18 AM   #12
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Do not worry about the value of the cap or the diode yet, need to find out why you are getting bad reading on D7904 first, so do what I suggest first.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 08:35 PM   #13
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Will do, got delayed fixing my wife's car, but I'll post back soon. Thanks again for all the help!
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 05:48 AM   #14
Hcarter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
City & State: Kingsland, ga
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Hi egoh,
I have the exact same board with the exact same symptoms (160 VDC at BD7001 output and no voltage at any PD connector pin). Did you ever figure it out?
Hcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 10:23 AM   #15
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,806
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Have you done above tests suggested by budm?
__________________
I assume no responsibility for any stupid suggestions I might post.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 02:16 PM   #16
Hcarter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
City & State: Kingsland, ga
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Yes, and I did find R7900 open. I'm a little confused by its color code. It is Red-Red-Gold-Gold-Silver. If I ignore the silver band, it matches the above post from budm as a 2.2 ohm 5%. Any idea what the last silver band would be? For a standard 5 band, the 3rd can't be gold.
Thanks.
Hcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 05:24 PM   #17
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,806
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

You will need to look for shorts before replacing resistor. May have a bad IC7903 or diode
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 09:49 AM   #18
egoh
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Austin, TX
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hcarter View Post
Hi egoh,
I have the exact same board with the exact same symptoms (160 VDC at BD7001 output and no voltage at any PD connector pin). Did you ever figure it out?
Sorry, I got busy with car and house repairs. I ended up replacing the board and haven't circled back to diagnose the original failed board.
egoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 05:17 PM   #19
Hcarter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
City & State: Kingsland, ga
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Update: I figured the shorted diode was the culprit so after replacing blown R7900 and shorted D7950, I powered up the board and R7900 immediately blew, but D7950 was still good. I then replaced IC7903 and R7900 and the board powered up normally! The TV works perfectly!

Thank you everyone for all the help!
Hcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 05:47 AM   #20
Halcyon22
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
City & State: Panama city
My Country: Usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Sharp LC-60SQ15U TV DPS-167CP - No power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hcarter View Post
Update: I figured the shorted diode was the culprit so after replacing blown R7900 and shorted D7950, I powered up the board and R7900 immediately blew, but D7950 was still good. I then replaced IC7903 and R7900 and the board powered up normally! The TV works perfectly!

Thank you everyone for all the help!
What was the specs on the D7950 diode? Mine blew and the text on it is unreadable.
Halcyon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?