Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HP Elitebook 820 G3 - Locating BIOS Chips & Not Powering On

Hi,

I got two HP Elitebook 820 G3 laptops sold as "untested/for parts" ages ago and finally got round to testing and attempting to fix them.

The first was easy enough and after replacing the missing/broken parts runs great, however has a BIOS password the seller does not know. I'm pretty new to this but I've had a read around and it looks like this can easily be removed using the tool by RethoricalCheese here:

The bit I'm struggling with is actually finding the BIOS chips. I've completely removed the system board to have a look and can't see anything obvious, but then I'm not entirely sure what I'm actually looking for. The HP parts number for the board in them is 831762-001 and it seems to also be called 6050A2725001-MB-A01 in some places. Would anybody be able to let me know where they can be found on these laptops?

My understanding is that once I've found the chips, they can be read with a SOIC8 clip and CH341A programmer. Once read, I can then run them through the tool above to remove the passwords, and load them back onto the chips. Is this right?

The second laptop is the exact same model and was missing the same components, however on testing will not even power on. When plugged in, none of the LEDs light up at all and nothing happens when the power button is pressed. I've tried this both with and without a battery and have the same problem. Does anyone know what could be causing this and if it's something that is potentially fixable?

Thanks for your help and this is my first topic here, so please let me know if I've messed anything up.

Re: HP Elitebook 820 G3 - Locating BIOS Chips & Not Powering On

Main BIOS chip is here.
    There are 2 types.
    1. Socket Type. (attached images)
    2. Soldered.
    Chip is WSON8 both types. Not SOIC8.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by pokotan; 10-19-2020, 07:31 AM.

Comment