Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2022, 08:28 AM   #21
Retrorockit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: DAVIE,FL
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post
I found this looking around at which LGA775 have SSE4 and which ones don't.
It seems Intel has a patch to add these to any x64 CPU including AMD. It even spoofs the CPUID to show the change. Intel SDE.
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...-emulator.html
I got some ffedback on this from a user at OCN. He says it's not good for real time apps like gaming.AMD guys at Steam say it's OK...........
Retrorockit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 08:34 AM   #22
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,340
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Worry not old buddy, my scope of TV is even narrower than yours....but the show in reference above is 'Night Court'; this episode: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0660706/?ref_=ttep_ep16

This is the only sitcom I ever liked....and know it by heart. Of the core cast, only 2 are still alive.
Ah yes, didn't Brent Spiner (Data from Star Trek) make an appearance in an episode?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post
I don't bother with 1156. I go for the LGA1366 with 3 channel RAM. The Nehalem based Xeons were called Bloomfield. Whole Dell T3500 are typically $80. I've actually picked them up for as little as $20, 3x Optiplex XE and a T3500 for $80. When I pointed out that the RAM shroud was missing, and it was part of the cooling he sold it to me for scrap value.
Ah, so that's the T3500... I was thinking of the T3400.

What about those China special X79 2011/1356 boards? They're nowhere near as good as the T3500 which is properly engineered and put together, but they're standard ATX. Wouldn't trust the polymer caps they use on those things though.
__________________
"...I suppose he wants to be free of youthful associations, as most of us do."
-Robertson Davies

"...don't say oh my god, your god is far away from you. I give you massage. I am your god now."
-Luo Dong
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 10:55 AM   #23
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,002
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird View Post
Ah yes, didn't Brent Spiner (Data from Star Trek) make an appearance in an episode?
He actually had a reoccurring role, and was absolutely hilarious! He played a trailer park hick that kept landing in court arrested on silly charges..
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 02:01 PM   #24
Retrorockit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: DAVIE,FL
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 102
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

I may be responsible for the T3400- T3500 confusion. I own a couple T3500 (as shown) But I'm actually working my way up to a T3400/XPS420 project when I get through maxxing out my Optiplex 380. 266/333fsb tapemods for the Opti 380, and 400fsb on tape for the X38 Mid Towers. The Optiplex XE is lurking in the background of all this too. The T3400 and T3500 can be overclocked with Throttlestop software and unlocked CPUs already.
The T3600 with AVX support is ripe for it but hasn't been tried yet.
None of my stuff is ATX. I just buy whole Dells and go form there.

Last edited by Retrorockit; 01-26-2022 at 02:12 PM..
Retrorockit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2022, 07:55 AM   #25
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,619
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird View Post
What about those China special X79 2011/1356 boards? They're nowhere near as good as the T3500 which is properly engineered and put together, but they're standard ATX. Wouldn't trust the polymer caps they use on those things though.
They suck. Topcat has a dead one I obtained as part of a dead gaming rig part-out I bought. Kid ran Fortnite on it for a year before it blew up and fried... and his mom sold me the remains to help fund a PS5 purchase.

Funny enough the GPU out of it didn't last either... and it was (as far as I could tell) a genuine EVGA 1060 (which, along with the SSD, is why I bought the thing); my dad got about 6 months out of it before it too went poof. The PSU was an OCZ... full of Capxon GF super skinny caps but was in good order at the time, so I doubt the PSU killed either. The RAM was also off-brand but also working per Topcat's word to me.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)

Last edited by ratdude747; 01-30-2022 at 08:03 AM..
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2022, 10:24 PM   #26
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,002
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

Has anyone successfully made this work>? I've got a M6400 with a Q9300 I'd love to squeak a little more out of....but SSE4.2 will be needed to do so.... As per Intel's usual, the instructions may as well be written in Japanese....
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2022, 07:19 PM   #27
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,002
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

Just a bit of an update....While I never got this to work, the reason I wanted it to work has been remedied by the powers that be that took over Waterfox. Some corporation got their mitts on Waterfox, and everything from "gen4" required SSE4.2, which I thought was beyond asinine since Firefox/mozilla itself doesn't even require this; nor any browser that I'm aware of does either..... I guess enough people bitched & complained; and perhaps the already struggling Waterfox/Mozilla platform realized that losing a big chunk of what's left of their marketshare was probably not a good idea....in their infinite wisdom they decided to step it back a notch to only requiring SSE4.1 starting with "Gen4 v4.10"....which brings it back to functioning on the C2D/C2Q platform....and now my M6400 will live on running Waterfox! Honestly, there's no way I'd have dumped a Quad core M6400 w/16gb RAM over something as petty as a browser, I'd have just switched to something else....but I thought that requiring SSE4.2 was a really bonehead play by Waterfox....as the penryn/conroe/kentsfield/yorkfield/harpertown platforms are still very capable; even by modern standards.....but it wasn't without some politically correct bullshit being sneaked in there, as whatever references (not even sure where this would apply); they will no longer acknowledge gender.... How fucking stupid....

Quote:
References to 'his' and 'her' have been replaced with 'their' where relevant.
https://www.waterfox.net/docs/releas...n=about-dialog

...but if anyone actually manages to get this to run, feel free to add to this thread... From what I've read, SSE4.2 is more commonly needed for some newer games to work.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2022, 09:30 AM   #28
piernov
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,571
Default Re: Intel SDE AVX and SSE4.2 patch

Had a similar issue recently but on Linux. Wanted to load some Python library that was compiled with AVX2 and other Haswell optimizations on a 45nm Core 2 (Precision T7400). Tried to recompile it without AVX and failed (because no one is dumb enough to try to use that stuff on a 14 years old CPU), and didn't realize at first that the real problem was with BMI2 and not AVX, and I just had to remove the `-march=haswell` from the CFLAGS and recompile…

Anyway, tried to load it through Intel SDE (basically just prepending `sde --` to the command line), and while it did work, it was insanely slow. Approximately 2 minutes to load the library vs. a handful of seconds without (when recompiled without Haswell optimizations).
Intel SDE did point me to the actual opcode that was causing problems though, which helped in realizing my mistake that it was not AVX but BMI2.
__________________
OpenBoardView https://github.com/OpenBoardView/OpenBoardView

Last edited by piernov; 04-07-2022 at 09:34 AM..
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?