Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2020, 10:54 AM   #1
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Angry Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Hi guys been a while but I am still here
Latest project got this Sony 4K for 10 as not working, was told came to it one day and dead
No Led light when plugged in no power, suspected power/led board, replaced with used part still no power so replaced mainboard, TV powered up and was perfect ???? however as the set warmed up the right hand side of the screen started to go lighter than the left and get patterns in the background.
I think faulty mainboard, so ordered another mainboard from another seller, result exactly the same perfect picture when first on but as set warms right side of picture goes lighter maybe hazy and same pattern in picture.
This set does not have a tcon board appears to be built in to the lvds board on the screen
Anyone any ideas on a fix for this now, not looked at lvds/tcon board yet
Not sure how well the pics will show the fault but will post some, bear in mind picture is perfect on a cold set
Picture is also ok on the Sony picture test screen
Hope someone has some ideas on this one
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 10:57 AM   #2
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

I have now put a heatsink on to the big chip in the centre of the mainboard which I assume is the graphics chip, no difference picture still goes the same as it warms up
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 01:10 PM   #3
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,707
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

You could start with a factory reset but more than likely you need to update/pair the mainboard with the panel, check sonys site for the firmware but they aren't too good at keeping firmware up on their site for too long, so it might not be there.
__________________
(Signature) One of the first and least expensive things you can do when you have an issue is take the powerboard out of the tv, flip it over and look the solder joints over with a magnifying glass if needed, add a little flux to make the solder flow well and add solder to any joints that look even a little suspect. You can practice on a scrap pcb board if needed, careful not to bridge any joints, and always let the board sit for quite a while or discharge the big caps with an appropriate resister before working on it (safety first) to try to keep from getting shocked, it doesn't take 1000 volts to KILL, a lot less can kill, so be careful, it's only a tv.

Last edited by nomoresonys; 10-10-2020 at 01:13 PM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 01:27 PM   #4
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Hi thanks for the reply yes I have done a factory reset, and also done a firmware update which I got off the Sony support website.
I have been thinking more about this tv since I posted and I was thinking to much of a coincidence that two mainboards have exactly the same problem, which leads me to suspect a fault on the built in tcon. however what I can not work out is how is the built in sony picture test showing ok, surely that must come from the mainboard software making it not a problem with the tcon or screen panel
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 01:47 PM   #5
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Have you try cooling the integrated T-CON to see if it has any effect?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 02:00 PM   #6
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,707
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Did you update the firmware on the board that showed the patterns or just the second one that you bought?
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 02:04 PM   #7
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Hi thanks for the replies I shall try warming and cooling the tcon????
I did the firmware update on the second mainboard, however the picture fault was / is exactly the same on both boards
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 02:06 PM   #8
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

I agree no more sonys for me either, built in tcon whatever next
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 03:14 PM   #9
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,707
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Not sure but my old sony did the pattern thing til I updated it, when I changed mainboards.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 03:26 PM   #10
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

I will refit first replacement mainboard and update firmware on it
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 03:31 PM   #11
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,410
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

when you play the test jpg you don't have any issue as long the picture displayed.. but when you are using another source signal this happened at the right side of the LCD::: IF THIS CORRECT: YES then
yours LVDS depth setting at the replacements main boards didn't match.. this could be changed only at service menu.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:12 PM   #12
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Hi yes the built in sony test picture seems to display ok
Display fault seems to appear whe using tv through antenna signal and playing youtube etc through built in wifi and app
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:14 PM   #13
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

pics of lvds / tcon
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:19 PM   #14
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Hi Diah is it possible for me to alter the Lvds depth setting?
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:44 PM   #15
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Think I may have found a possible cause
Picture is of the original dead mainboard looking at the numbers on this board the last two numbers on the replacement boards are different
So I have 22 original and 21 and 24 on the replacements
I ordered boards by Model number of the tv
Do you guys think this is the problem ??
If it is schoolboy error by me
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 78737CCC-8755-45E0-8EDA-B7480F6A3CBD.jpg (526.9 KB, 18 views)
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:56 PM   #16
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,410
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by willday View Post
Hi Diah is it possible for me to alter the Lvds depth setting?
Quote:
Originally Posted by willday View Post
Think I may have found a possible cause
Not a possible but exact causes. here we have LVDS depth don't match.
please don't hurry... because the different time between me and this forum ,,, upload focused picture on replacement and original MB, and explain with easy long detail what was the fault with original MB. so we could find the best and easy way to solve it.
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 06:06 PM   #17
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Hi thanks for that here are the two pictures of the mainboards the original mainboard and the replacement mainboard, the replacement mainboard is the one with the heatsink fitted that I put on.
Fault with original board was a completely dead set, no front panel led, no response from remote or on off switch
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 09F1C067-2D9B-4101-9B77-037F8B41BE38.jpg (698.2 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 5AC3EF96-E5AC-4A49-BD0D-AF8B734FC227.jpg (695.2 KB, 15 views)
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 11:29 PM   #18
Biruslapio
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: ST
My Country: Brasil
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 361
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

I don't know about this TV, but this is what I could find comparing the two images. It's mostly some capacitors missing on your new board, but there are some 0 OHM resistors and inductors positioning that may enable or disable some circuit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg edit.jpg (1.65 MB, 14 views)
Biruslapio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2020, 02:28 AM   #19
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,410
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biruslapio View Post
this is what I could find comparing the two images.
good work Biruslapio.. not only what you marked.. but the most important was the NAND, ORG. was from south Korean hynix the other TAIWANESE
this tell us allot.. since we don't know the source of the replacement boards

Quote:
Originally Posted by willday View Post
Hi thanks for that here are the two pictures of the mainboards the original mainboard and the replacement mainboard, the replacement mainboard is the one with the heatsink fitted that I put on.
Fault with original board was a completely dead set, no front panel led, no response from remote or on off switch
you need to start with detective work. log in the service menu to see this boards belong to which series model / size
don't change any value just shoot photos always to hold the values on hand
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2020, 05:51 PM   #20
willday
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
City & State: Worksop
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Sony KDL-40WE663 Screen problem

Entered into Sony Service menu, board is showing correct tv model KDL-40WE663
Many many settings to look at and possibly change, but I would not know which ones I may need to change or what to change a setting to
willday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?