Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2021, 04:06 PM   #1
Smokie365
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Sony 65” issue I caused

I’m hoping after all the work I put into this I can salvage something. I bought a 65” Sony tv that was flashing three red lights. I opened it and tested the led’s and it one strip had failed so I went and preferred them online.

They arrived today and again I stripped the tv down and replaced the led’s, but in the process I tore one of the little ribbon cables coming from then iron of the LCD ( See attached pic).

I tried to tape it back down and out the tv back together and the original issue has now gone and the tv boots up but only one half of the screen is displaying correctly. The right side has lines. Can this be repaired or is there something I can do? For my first tv repair it went pretty good considering I was replacing 16 strips of leds.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AD83F172-40E5-4F6F-8DA9-5DD7574D6D2B.jpg (132.5 KB, 56 views)
Smokie365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2021, 04:30 PM   #2
SLK001
Badcaps Veteran
 
SLK001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Coral Springs, FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V AC @ 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 244
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

It's scrap. Salvage all the boards and the strips and try to recoup your money.

You've got to be careful with these things.
SLK001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2021, 04:34 PM   #3
alfatv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
City & State: Guelph
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 232
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokie365 View Post
For my first tv repair it went pretty good considering I was replacing 16 strips of leds.

Thanks in advance.
Pretty good? Sorry, I have bad news for you.
alfatv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2021, 04:50 PM   #4
Smokie365
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

Ahh no way! I thought if the cable pins made contact with the pads then it could be ok.
Cheers guys
Smokie365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 05:15 AM   #5
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,544
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

If it's scrap then I have often wondered if a domestic iron set to the correct temperature and a microscope to ensure the tracks are lined up would work. There is some information on line I have come across that give details of the bonding and temperature. Maybe worth a search.

Edit
Thinking about it further if the tracks on the thin panel ribbon have come away then it would never work.
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Last edited by dick_barton; 05-23-2021 at 05:24 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 05:44 AM   #6
Smokie365
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
If it's scrap then I have often wondered if a domestic iron set to the correct temperature and a microscope to ensure the tracks are lined up would work. There is some information on line I have come across that give details of the bonding and temperature. Maybe worth a search.

Edit
Thinking about it further if the tracks on the thin panel ribbon have come away then it would never work.
A friend is giving me a microscope and soldering set to repair this very thing. He did mention if one of the the tracks has came off we would have to chase it to see where it goes and run a cable to it. It’s worth a shot anyway.
Smokie365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 07:53 AM   #7
SLK001
Badcaps Veteran
 
SLK001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Coral Springs, FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V AC @ 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 244
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

I've tried the iron method to attempt to get the ribbon reattached and I failed every time. My ribbons were only partially detached - I never had one fully detached like yours. Do not apply solder to these ribbons. They are attached by a conductive layer of adhesive. My guess is that they are ultrasonically bonded. Also, the tab has to perfectly aligned to the glass. None of these requirements bode well for a home repair.

Give it a try... Who knows - you may be the first to successfully reattach one of the tabs to a panel. It would give the rest of us hope for future repairs.
SLK001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 09:03 AM   #8
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,544
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

An idea of tab bonding is given here.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZCAMsi2Pls
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 10:00 AM   #9
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,992
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

The tabs are adhered with special expensive electrically conductive tape, heat and pressure are used to apply it.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 10:51 AM   #10
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,544
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

Anisotropic Conductive Film (ACF) Tape
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 11:53 AM   #11
alfatv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
City & State: Guelph
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 232
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

https://www.dexerials.jp/en/products/acf/cp20000.html
150-200degC bonding temperature.
Vulcanizing tool for tires comes to my mind, it applies both pressure and temperature. Will need metal adapter piece of right shape.
ACF is available on aliexpress.
Ready for challenge?
alfatv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 01:06 PM   #12
Smokie365
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

So I got the microscope and I resoldered the cable. I must of had it slightly offline because when I powered it up the ribbon cable heated up and burnt a little hole. It must of shorted out. It can be done but I failed on this one I’m afraid.
Smokie365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 02:11 PM   #13
f67bird
Technician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
City & State: Near Savannah Georgia
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: Sony 65” issue I caused

I have had success soldering some of these flexible ribbon cables (when it's the end that attaches to the board as opposed to the glass that has come loose).
Don't make me dig up the pictures...
__________________
Learner
f67bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:04 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?