Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2018, 10:28 AM   #1
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,065
Default ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

Here is a ICT Comm Series, model ICT12012-10A power supply.

Complaint: Folds back to 9.3V under load (40W VHF radio).

So I open this up and see nothing visual. Took another look with my ESR meter. AND? Yeah, all caps besides the main filter cap are bad. It got a full recap, including the main filter cap.

Replaced: C7 200V 330uF, C10 35V 22uF, C15 35V 100uF, C18 35V 47uF, C 27 35V 10uF, C28 63V 47uF, C32 and C33 16V 2200uF.

Another PSU saved from being tossed into the bin.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg File 2018-02-01, 12 23 55.jpg (452.5 KB, 28 views)

Last edited by CapLeaker; 02-01-2018 at 10:56 AM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 08:28 PM   #2
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

How is this unit
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 10:47 AM   #3
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,065
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

What do you mean? How old is it? 7 years, been running 24/7/365.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 07:29 PM   #4
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,065
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

I have another exact same power supply on my bench with the exact same problem as the original one.

I did the same thing, recapped everything. Just this one had a new "feature"! After the recap, the PSU worked just fine as long as I didn't exceed roughly 4 to 4.5A. After that she instantly dropped down to 0.5V. After a couple of educated guesses, I found out R28 to be the problem. Replaced it and all is good.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 04:11 AM   #5
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

Very good job repairing this power supply
Yea one less item in the landfill

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 11-27-2021 at 04:14 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 10:24 AM   #6
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,086
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

hams? use switching power supplies? Thought they'd all go Astron...

(eh... my VHF and UHF radios are connected to an Xbox PSU... yeah, so I use a switching PSU...)
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 01:32 AM   #7
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
hams? use switching power supplies? Thought they'd all go Astron...

(eh... my VHF and UHF radios are connected to an Xbox PSU... yeah, so I use a switching PSU...)
So how did you modify a Xbox PSU to work like this I sure would like to know
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 10:27 AM   #8
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,086
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

PSU is a PSU of course of course... what's so special?

Then again I did mod it from 12V to 13.8V IIRC, but I had a vague recollection I or someone posted the mod somewhere.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 01:16 PM   #9
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,086
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

[Threadjack]
Ahh ... was https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...1&postcount=18 not clear on what I did? I just soldered that 36K resistor on top of R318 so i cid not need to remove the old one. Forgot what the value of the original resistor there....
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2021, 03:10 PM   #10
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,065
Default Re: ICT12012-10A Comm Series folds back under load (fixed)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam_sam_sam View Post
Very good job repairing this power supply
Yea one less item in the landfill
Yeah, you never know when you need one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
hams? use switching power supplies? Thought they'd all go Astron...

(eh... my VHF and UHF radios are connected to an Xbox PSU... yeah, so I use a switching PSU...)
Well, switching PSUís are fine for VHF / UHF and thatís where this was used in a commercial application.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?