Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2016, 01:46 PM   #1
irad
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 60
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Vizio m550vse stuck on with V on screen

When turned on the V appears on the screen and can not be turned off with remote or button on tv. I have powered off the tv, left it unplugged overnight. I opened up the tv and the power board has the correct voltages. I then read the posts on testing voltage regulators and tested mine. They are all fixed voltage, LD1117ag. The 3.3v ones read 3.26v and 3.27. The 1.2v ones now read 1.16 and 1.17. They did read 1.12 the day before. I did an experiment. I attached an ethernet cable and tried to power up the tv. I attached the tv to a power strip. I toggled the power strip on and off twice in the span of 1 second. Then pressed the on button. The V appeared on the screen and after 12 seconds I can use the tv. I think it took firmware updates, while I watched a channel. I did a factory reset and the tv continued to work for hours. The next day,today, I was back to freezing with the V on the screen. I toggled the power strip twice in a second and the tv worked. Any ideas on what to do? Should i change the 1.2v voltage regulators? Should I change the 3.3v regulators? How should i proceed?
Thanks, Ira
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0006.jpg (891.9 KB, 12 views)
irad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 07:18 PM   #2
irad
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 60
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Vizio m550vse stuck on with V on screen

I checked all the caps on the power board with an esr meter. They all tested good. I checked the output voltages on ac volts looking for oscillation and got a maximum of 0.08 VAC. I reflowed a few chips and nothing changed. The only thing I see is that the 12v coming off the power board is at 11.83v.
irad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 10:19 AM   #3
Nick's Tvs
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Tucson Arizona
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 601
Default Re: Vizio m550vse stuck on with V on screen

Logo stuck on screen sounds like a bad EEPROM.
Physical movement making a difference however indicated a physical issue such as bad solder joints.
Nick's Tvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 06:29 AM   #4
ljintexas
LJinTexas
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: San Antonio, Tx
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120/240
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 561
Default Re: Vizio m550vse stuck on with V on screen

I agree with Nick on the EEPROM...I have had two Vizios with that malady. Both were main board issues. Found out later that one took a lightning strike to the dish/coax. Main board fixed them both. I have also found plenty of suspect solder joints on Vizios, among others.
ljintexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 10:12 AM   #5
irad
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 60
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Vizio m550vse stuck on with V on screen

I'll look for bad solder joints, since I can get the tv to work if I toggle the power strip, the tv is plugged into, twice quickly.
irad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2021, 02:56 PM   #6
Steve_Rogers_1970
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
City & State: Columbus OH
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Vizio m550vse stuck on with V on screen

I know this is an old thread, but thought i would take a chance. similarly, every so often, i can cajole this TV to come on. if i leave it powered up, it stays working. if i power off for more than a minute or so, i'm back to this symptom. The limited research i've done tells me there isn't an EEPROM on this. could that be true? if there are cold soldier joints, any suggestions where i can look to touch them up?
Steve_Rogers_1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2021, 04:32 PM   #7
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,674
Default Re: Vizio m550vse stuck on with V on screen

Try heating main processor on mainboard and see if that allows it to come on.
__________________
I assume no responsibility for any stupid suggestions I might post.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?