Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Desktop Motherboards, Graphics Cards, and PC Peripherals
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2022, 11:13 AM   #1
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

i have a Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB it keeps causing the pc to reboot it does sometimes load windows and i manged to play gta5 on it for about 15mins then reboots again

i did a few checks and found that vcore memory and memory controller turns off and back on again i thought it might be a faulty vrm controller so i replaced it but same thing happens never came across this kind of fault before anyone know where i should begin from here
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 01:55 PM   #2
dicky96
Sun Seeker
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

This sort of problem can be due to a faulty RAM chip/chips on the video card

This will show you how to test it
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4QUkoBvxuY
__________________
Follow me on YouTube
------------------
Learn Electronics Repair
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFX...R8UZ2vg/videos
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 01:57 PM   #3
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

thx alot for this info

i downloaded all the stuff im trying to use disk genius to setup the drive but when i right click on the drive quick partition is greyed out and f6 on the keyboard doesn't work, its connected using sata on the motherboard but on my usb drive i have connected it isn't greyed out u know why that is
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 12:24 AM   #4
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Smile Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

i managed to get that setup and working i ran the test and got a pass
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 06:20 AM   #5
Bozog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Norfolk
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 123
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

This maybe useful...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DynaxSC View Post
It could be that tserver does not detect a memory error, when the memory is only "somewhat" broken, so that it fails on higher frequencies only.

There is a way to let tserver test on higher frequencies -> You may try the hint from DrasticRepairs at the end of the thread:

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=101715
Bozog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2022, 05:00 AM   #6
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozog View Post
This maybe useful...
thanks again for the help
got the mem test working got to 1362.5mhz and still a pass anything higher it starts to run the test then the computer reboots, happens every time so might be difficult to identify the faulty module
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2022, 07:09 AM   #7
foshland
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Ceuta
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 96
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderspore View Post
thanks again for the help
got the mem test working got to 1362.5mhz and still a pass anything higher it starts to run the test then the computer reboots, happens every time so might be difficult to identify the faulty module
Same problem here with a rx470 8gb, dont know what else to do (i mean running on supposed default ram clocks, not more)

Last edited by foshland; 02-02-2022 at 07:10 AM.. Reason: add info
foshland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2022, 11:53 AM   #8
DynaxSC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Parcela/Mazowieckie
My Country: Poland
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 161
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

Hi, maybe it is something with powersupply, so the power/voltage supervisor chip thinks that the power usage is out of range or some supply voltage is out of range. Maybe not all vrm phases are working but are not shorted ??? Don't know this card, but on Nvidia cards the monitoring is done often by a chip called INA3221. It measures several voltages and also the current for several supply lines (via a serial low ohm resistance). Could be also temperature monitoring.
DynaxSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2022, 10:47 AM   #9
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

anyone know what the voltage supervisor chip on this card is i cant find out what does it
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2022, 09:52 AM   #10
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

hit a dead end with this, couldnt find what the voltage supervisor chip is on this card, so i replaced both GS7256 buck controllers on memory and memory controller in case they weren't working properly but still no difference dont know what to do from here
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2022, 11:57 AM   #11
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

anyone have any ideas on where to go from here?
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 12:57 AM   #12
SiO2
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
City & State: Bonn, NRW
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 17
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

Recently had a 480 and a 580 with similar symptoms. After reducing the core and memory clocks by ~50-60 MHz, they worked "fine".
Gave up on trying to fix this and assumed some form of degradation.
SiO2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2022, 10:57 AM   #13
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

it isnt stable enough in windows to reduce clocks it reboots as soon as i login
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2022, 03:39 AM   #14
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

made some progress with this card, solved the rebooting problem by replacing the vrm controller and the pc stayed on for 12 hours without rebooting

card works as primary gpu for normal use no artifacts cant install drivers shows as code43 in device manager

in gpu-z it shows gpu clock as 0 MHZ
Attached Images
File Type: gif gp.gif (13.2 KB, 3 views)
File Type: gif gpuz.gif (24.8 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by spiderspore; 05-08-2022 at 03:45 AM..
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2022, 03:48 AM   #15
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

i tried flashing a new bios but amdvbflashwin doesn't detect it only the onboard graphics is detected
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 11:26 AM   #16
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

i ran another ram test with the dmgg.py script and got no bad chips
if its not the ram what are the other causes of code43
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 03:14 PM   #17
didi79
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
City & State: Menen
My Country: BE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 73
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderspore View Post
i tried flashing a new bios but amdvbflashwin doesn't detect it only the onboard graphics is detected
Flash unpowered with something like a CH341A programmer?
didi79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2022, 03:59 AM   #18
spiderspore
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Sapphire RX570 Nitro 4GB Repair Help

hopefully that works. i ordered one already just waiting for it to arrive
spiderspore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?